really, truly

Normally I pride myself on being frugal.  I say “no” to the adorable shirts that I don’t really, truly need.  I pass by the $10.00 jar of walnut butter.  Most of my fashion  accessories come from Kohls or Target.

So where does this fit in?

The wonder known as Whole Foods sucked me in.  I walked pass the produce, the cheese, the wine.  Not a second glance was given.

Then I saw the Chia Seeds.

Somehow I felt that I really, truly needed this.  Throwing my frugal nature to the side, I grabbed the $9.00 bag of chia’s and walked myself to the cash-out.  Repeat to self, “You need this.”

Let’s be honest—I didn’t really, truly need this.  :mrgreen:   But it sure was a fun addition to my morning bowl of oats!  Crunchy & Nutty—and full of omega-3’s.  The serving is 1 T., but I’ll be using 1-1/2 tsp to make it last longer. 😉

Today I’m back to my normal, frugal self.  I picked up the book “Trail of Crumbs” for under $4 at the bookstore—so excited for a new read!  😀 

Question: Do you try to be frugal with food/clothes, etc?  I try to be as frugal as possible, never letting leftovers go to waste and trying to focus on the more affordable (and healthy!) food choices.  And when it comes to clothes, I’ll usually try and “go cheap” unless it’s an item that I know I’ll wear over and over or if it’s something that I really, truly love. 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “really, truly

  1. I have no trouble being frugal with clothes. I don’t buy new stuff often and it’s usually from Target at 75% off. It’s food where I have the problem not splurging. I’ve bought the $10 jar of walnut butter(and it’s so worth it!).

  2. I think you definitely needed those chia seeds 😉 Aren’t they so much fun?! And look how nutritionally beneficial they are! No guilt necessary.

    I am so weird when it comes to frugal vs. spendy. I am frugal over some things, yet have no restraint over others. I’m really frugal with clothes and stuff like that – but I have a hard time restraining myself in food stores! Though i will say – if I’m saving up for something in particular, I’m pretty “well behaved.”

  3. I am super frugal with everything! We always didn’t spent much, but now we are a one-income household, so we watch our spending even more. We still treat ourselves from time to time though 😉

    (I love Kohl’s and Target. I think all of my work clothes are from those two places!)

  4. I don’t buy clothes or much else other than food & gas so I don’t normally go out of my way to be frugal. If there is a coupon I’ll use it but other than that I just buy bulk when/if I can and try not to waste. Book stores are where I am weakest though. 🙂

  5. Somehow I felt that I really, truly needed this. Throwing my frugal nature to the side, I grabbed the $9.00 bag of chia’s and walked myself to the cash-out. Repeat to self, “You need this.”

Leave a Reply

