Friday Foodie

I am the queen of clumsy this week.  In case you don’t believe me, let me convince you.

It started on Sunday when I walked into a large, bright neon cone in the hospital.  My sister let out a laugh and simply stated that it could have been worse and at least I didn’t walk into some poor, innocent child.  Then it happened at the grocery store, when I grabbed one apple only to have 10 more follow along, each in a different direction.  But since I don’t have 10 arms, I decided to try my hand at juggling.  This resulted in having a little boy laughing, a mother looking shocked, and the poor produce employee looking sad (or angry?)  It wasn’t pretty.

I won’t even mention the moment when I leapt for the ringing phone, only to realize that my foot was tangled in my laptop’s battery charger.  I found myself lying face down on the ground with a loud “garumph”.  I wasn’t sure if I should laugh or cry, so I did both. 

Queen of Clumsy.

Anyhow, at least it’s Friday and a whole new weekend is here.  This clumsy phase can’t last for too much longer (knock on wood.)

On to the eats!!!

Friday Foodie #1

My sis and I both shared wide-eyed expressions when we spotted these small packets of Honey Peanut Butter at whole foods.  We share a love for honey roasted peanuts (in fact, this was a very serious conversation topic that we had while on our 5-mile morning walk,) so what’s not to love about the nut butter version, right? 

Love.  Pure, sweet love.  I slathered it all over my whole wheat bagel and each delicious bite was savored.  I also served a grapefruit on the side, and this breakfast kept me full until lunch rolled around.  I need to find a place that sells large containers of this wonderful peanut butter blend! 😀

Foodie Highlight #2

I’m obsessed with salads.  They are such a form of artwork, yeilding to whatever suits your fancy at that moment in time.  Today I wanted simplicity with a bit of excitement (i.e., feta cheese!)  Along with some cornbread, this lunch made the most satisfying summer meal.

Foodie Shopping Highlight #3

I realize that I’m listing many obsessions in this post, but here’s one more to add to the list: starbucks soy mocha frappucinos.  My sister and I are—well—obsessed.  It’s true.  I think we’ve gone about 3 times in the past week and a half.  And today my sister surprised me by buying us each an insulated cup for all of our ice coffees and smoothies.  Can you imagine how excited I am?  Can you imagine all the crazy smoothie ideas that are now running through my head?  Can you imagine how proud I’ll be when I hand over my reusable cup to the barista as I order my tall mocha soy frappucino?

Can you imagine that I’m so incredibly excited?

This.  Is.  The.  Best.  Cup.  Ever.  I love it!

Foodie Highlight #4

VOSKOS!…

…turned into THIS!

I was dining solo tonight, so I took advantage of this and made myself a yogurt & oat mess.  I’m falling quickly in love with Voskos yogurt (this plain, nonfat flavor was so silky and smooth!)  I’m also kind of obsessed (oops, here I go again) with the PB&Company Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter.  I bought the jar last week and it’s quickly diminishing.  It’s a little too sweet for my morning oats, but I love it as a snack—or in this case, as part of dinner.

  • 1/2 c. oatmeal
  • 1/2 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1 Voskos Organic Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves
  • toppings: 2 T. Natures Path Pumpkin Flax Granola (another obsession, but I’ll bet you already knew that 😉 ), 1 tsp chia seeds, sprinklin’ of coconut, and a dollop of PB&Company Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter

Sooo creamy and delicious.  Exactly what I wanted for a dinner on the deck.   

Happy FRIDAY and I hope you enjoy a fresh, new weekend!

Question: When dining solo, what is your meal of choice?  Usually scrambled eggs, oats, or some form of a grilled sandwich.  Unless I’m in the mood for cooking, and then it’s fun to whip up a whole new recipe—just because.

13 thoughts on “Friday Foodie

  1. Actually, I love cooking for myself. I love that I can make whatever I’m in the mood for, and I’m pretty good about eating the leftovers! I heard that Justin’s nut butters will soon be more available on the east coast. I hope so, because I have yet to see a big container of their spreads, only the squeeze packets.

  2. I love any sort of breakfast-for-dinner meal when dining solo! I am thinking I may invest in one of those Starbucks containers for my smoothies as well.

  3. I’m sorry about all your clumsy incidents but at least you survived! 😉
    I LOVE Starbucks tall mocha iced coffee!! I get mine with nonfat milk & it’s definitely pure bliss. =)

  4. Lol I pretty much dine solo every night. It comes with living along I guess…

    Where did you buy the Voskos Organic yogurt? I really want to try that brand now that they make an organic one.

    • I was actually sent this one to sample! But I know their website has a little “store locator” section. It’s definitely worth seeking out. 😉

  5. OMG love those Starbucks cups!! Mine broke so my roommate bought me a Jamba Juice one. But now that the Starbs ones are back in stores, I think I very well might have to buy another 🙂

  6. Oh I love Justin’s nut butters, the almond butter comes in a Maple flavor that is sooo good! I don’t know if you have a Sprout’s market near you but they also carry it at Mother’s Market and Whole Foods, but I’m surprised the store that has those packets doesn’t carry it, my store has both the packets and the jar.

    I have that cup and love it!! I recently saw it in the bigger size but didn’t get one and now I can’t find them anymore 😦

    Hope your having a great weekend!

  7. i have yet to try the nut butter! i tend to make things like tempeh and tofu dishes cuz by hubs does not like them!

  8. When Im eating alone, dinner is usually one of three things: roasted sweet potato with farmers cheese, yogurt mess, or oats. Those are some of my favourite things. 🙂
    I hope you have a loverly weekend!

  9. When I am dining solo I usually like to make a yummy salad, with all the fixins, or a pita pizza!

    I have totally been obsessing over salads filled with feta this week and I also had Justin’s nut butter today (maple) it was sooo yummy! Good choice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

