Live, Laugh, Love…and Cook

While serving the homemade minestrone soup and blondies to my parents, Uncle Mike and Pepere, it suddenly occured to me: I love to cook.

In case you’re ready to tell me, “well…duh…you do have a food blog,” then let me explain.  I haven’t always enjoyed cooking and I most certainly haven’t always appreciated food.  I was just as happy with opening up a box of hamburger helper or a can of sloppy joes and calling it lunch.  I didn’t understand why people would waste time roasting a vegetable since I had to pinch my nose to eat them anyways—why waste time? 

But all throughout highschool and well into college, something changed.  It wasn’t just the fact that I began to appreciate food—real, honest-to-goodness food and not just something out of a box or wrapperbut I also enjoyed the process of preparing the food for family and friends.  I honestly can’t think of anything that I enjoy doing more than watching people enjoy the food that I worked hard to put together.  Better yet, I love it when they get involved too—cooking can be such a social event!  Take tonight for example.  Dad cooked the salmon, mom snapped the beans, and I sauteed the cabbage (with a bit of seedy mustard), baked the potatoes, and roasted the beans to a caramelized state of sweet perfection.

When all is said and done, there’s something special about sitting down to enjoy a meal at the end of the day.  Knowing that a little bit of work and a whole lot of love went into the meal—it’s one of life’s simplest pleasures.

 Happy Weekend!  I hope you’re all feeling refreshed and energized for a brand new week.  Personally, I could use some serious motivation to get everything done this week that I know I need to get done. 😉 

In light of that, here’s the question of the day…

Question: How do you get yourself motivated and how do you stay motivated when it comes to getting things done?  Usually I’ll write it down in my schedule.  Having a major “to do” stare me down does wonders when it comes to getting things done.  Sometimes when I need a little extra motivation, I’ll give myself a deadline and a “final reward” for when I do get it done (i.e., new magazine, bubble bath, going out for a coffee, etc.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Live, Laugh, Love…and Cook

  1. I’m a big list-maker. I keep lists in my planner, on my desk, and on my laptop. I don’t usually reward myself with anything, but stick to trying to get a few things done each day. Of course, I can procrastinate as well, savings loads of things to do all at once, but that’s okay. I figure it’s my own fault when that happens.

  2. Your revelation = my revelation! I don’t really know WHY I suddenly started appreciating REAL food and its preparation, but since that “click,” I’ve never looked back! I LOVE cooking and planning meals and tasting new things, as well as cooking for others and getting them to try new things!

    As for getting things done, I’m a huge fan of crossing things off on a list…for some reason that’s a reward in itself! I only do lists during the school year though and sleep is the ultimate reward, haha.

  3. i completely agree. there is something so therapeutic and reassuring about cooking. sounds like you had a great night with the fam! and when it comes to getting things done, iam definitely a list person!

  4. Well, as I am sick today, I will not be getting anything done. 🙂 But I love lists too… I loved the comment from Amy, “Sadly, I cheat and put stuff I just did on there, too. My excuse is that seeing something already crossed off gets me going…” I do the same thing!!

  5. I love the feeling I get when cooking for others. Sometimes I have such a hard time staying motivated. I usually give myself a deadline so I’m forced to get it done!

Leave a Reply

