It’s Wednesday

Honestly, I’m kind of embarrassed to let you in on today’s eats.  There is no explanation for my odd choices, the strange combinations and the obvious lack of aesthetics.  But if I was allowed to use one word—just one—to give you an excuse, this would be it: Wednesday.

I don’t know what it’s like at your house, but over here, Wednesday is the day when the refrigerator begins to closely resemble an old ghost town.  If you’re lucky,  you might find a lonely raisin sitting at the bottom of its container in the pantry.  And maybe—maybe—there’s a slice of cheese or two still left in the deli drawer of the refrigerator.  But I won’t even mention the vacant veggie drawer.  Or the freezer for that matter (I think my dad is more then ready for a restock of meat in this house!)

So there you go.  That is my excuse.  It’s Wednesday.

At least I managed to find this sitting way back in the closet:

Who knows how long it’s been there, but desparate times call for desparate measures. 

  • 1/3 c. Hodgson Mill Multi Grain hot cereal
  • 2 T. wheat bran
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • toppings: banana slices, 1 tsp chia seeds, 1 T. Galaxy Granola and a scoop of chunky Teddy Peanut Butter

This reminded me a lot of oat bran and was absolutely delicious.  I don’t know why I haven’t used this up before now!

Morning Snack: the very last grapefruit and the very last of the almonds

I scrambled through the fridge in search of the last remaining vegetables and managed to put together a green salad for lunch.  Even when the fridge is seeing the worse of days, there always seems to be a carrot and a bit of red onion way down at the bottom somewhere.  It’s something I can pretty much count on. So on top of the mixed greens, I sliced a carrot, diced some red onion and threw on a sprinkle of sunflower seeds for good measure.  Along with 1/2 c. garbanzo beans and the last two end slices of a German dark wheat bread, this became a decent lunch.  Not pretty.  But decent. 😉

Pink Lady!

And this final picture?  This is literally the last of everything.  The last fruit (i.e., a mango split with dad.)  The last vegetable (i.e., roasted broccoli.)  The last slice of Trader Joe’s whole wheat sourdough bread with a bit of butter.  The last two eggs with a bit of sliced mushrooms and more red onion.

Now that the fridge is completely emptied and the last raisin has been eaten, I can refill with new grocery items.  Wednesdays may be frightening, but Thursdays (aka, shopping day) offer that bit of light at the end of the tunnel. 😉

post dinner sweetness: slice of homemade whole wheat chocolate chip banana bread (same picture as yesterday but consumed before a new pic could be snapped…oops!)

And there you have it.  A peak into another one of my typical Wednesdays, when my economical, waste-not-want-not trait comes into full swing.  It’s not always pretty (and sometimes it’s scary), but I find a great satisfaction with clearing out the fridge from top to bottom. :mrgreen: 

Question: Do you enjoy using up the very last of any remaining leftovers?  Are there any foods in your house that you refuse to run out of?  I refuse to run out of peanut butter.  This would warrant an emergency run to the grocery store. 😉

11 thoughts on “It’s Wednesday

  1. looks like you did a great job cleaning out the fridge! iam quite bare in the veggie department lately, too 😦 Unfortunately, I’ve got a couple more days to go before restocking, though!
    I hate running out of milk and/or yogurt more than anything! Goes in my coffee (well, milk – not yogurt!) and I hate having oats without it, too! That and fruit and veggies – but I usually have enough to get by and don’t consider an emergency trip 😛
    Have fun restocking tomorrow!

  2. Yeah, Nate and I are completely out of everything by the end of the week too. 🙂 It’s kind of sad sometimes… Ha ha. I probably should stock up on some pasta or something. We’d starve if we got stuck in the house because of a storm. Lol.

  3. my house must have a case of the wednesdays too! i try to use it all up for the sake of not wasting food. i get REALLY nervous if i am out of almond butter though 🙂

  4. It’s funny that you think your eats for the day are sad, because they are actually much more exciting than mine are right now (which is why I am not posting about food at all lately…I think people would get extremely bored). Your breakfast looks awesome- you make it look so pretty. And Pink Lady apples are my favourite!

    I really love the title of your blog. I think it’s genius, because I also run to slow things down…and I find it kind of ironic.

    I do enjoy using the last of everything. It makes me feel like I’m not wasting anything. I hate when things go bad and I have to throw them out! I never run out of frozen organic fruits and veggies…my freezer is always stocked with those in case my fresh produce does happen to go bad..I always have my emergency back up!

Leave a Reply

