Getting Over the Grumps

I usually keep a rather optimistic attitude and my mood is—in general—a pretty good one.  I’m not the type to be happy one minute and grumpy the next.  It just doesn’t work that way for me.  Which is why I can be kind of scary when I do get grumpy.  It all comes out in one day and there isn’t always a rhyme or a reason to explain it.

Enter in yesterday.  I was running low on sleep, I missed my morning cup of joe and I was late for meeting up with a group of friends at a local restaurant (why does the traffic seem to be worse on “grumpy days?”)  I managed to hide my grumpiness and sang along with the chit-chatter at the dinner table, hungrily eating a fresh mozzarella and watercress wrap while catching up on my friends’ lives.  I hugged my friends good bye and promised to catch up very soon again over the summer break.  And then I drove home to my poor, poor, innocent family who somehow managed to put up with me and the grumps.

But not to worry, fellow bloggers and friends, the grumpies are completely gone this morning.  It’s as if the storm clouds rolled away and the sun is once again peaking through.  Sometimes it just takes a run, a good night sleep, and breakfast.

For some reason, I was craving a cold bowl of cereal this morning.  Kashi Go Lean Crunch Honey Almond Flax cereal is one of the few that keeps me full through the morning.  And I love that I can eat it s-l-o-w-l-y without having it get soggy on me. 

  • 1-1/2 c. Kashi Go Lean Crunch Honey Almond Flax
  • 1 banana, sliced thick
  • 1 c. plain soymilk

I love crunchy, cold cereal in the morning sometimes!  Especially on a day when the temperature may just reach 90 degrees.  Speaking of which, I should get out there and fit in my morning bike ride before the sun makes its full appearance!!!

Question: What is your favorite breakfast on a particularly warm, summer morning?  It changes all the time for me, but sometimes you can’t beat an ice cold smoothie or a bowl of cold cereal. 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Getting Over the Grumps

  1. Aw, I always feel so bad when I unload a “mood” on my husband, too! Glad the storm clouds have passed – everyone has days like that once in a while.

    A bowl of fruit or banana “soft serve” or smoothies. I love warm mornings!

  2. I always want hot coffee no matter what the weather, but nothing makes me happier in warmer weather than a green smoothie and some yogurt. 🙂

    I’m sorry that your day was off! Glad that you’re back to being happy though. 🙂
    Have a fantastic weekend!

  3. ahhh…i just caught up on about 10 posts, and i am just more convinced than ever that (a) i want to come live with you at your parents or (b) please come be my personal chef. those thai lettuce wraps looked especially fab!

    no worries about the grumps – they happen. i am the same way – i am usually a happy person, so when the grumps do come, watch out!

    here’s to a happy, smiley weekend 🙂

  4. definitely i will be grumpy if i am low on sleep for sure…..sets me up for disaster for sure…..i love smoothies when it is warm 🙂

Leave a Reply

