(not so) Fancy Schmancy Sauce

Have you ever tasted, made or experienced a balsamic vinegar reduction sauce?  If the answer is “no”, then you’re missing out.  Just as I was until yesterday.

Jessica is one of my foodie friends who spent a good 3 years trying to convince me that I needed to try a balsamic reduction sauce on my pizza.  I always nodded.  Yes, I did needed to try it.  No, I wasn’t about to slave over the stove for a sauce.  A sauce!  If only I had realized how easy it was.  And now that I know, I’m sharing the idea with you guys.  Just don’t let it take three years before you try it. 😉

What you need: balsamic vinegar.

Yep, that’s it.  No fancy schmancy ingredients, other than your favorite balsamic vinegar.  I like the one in a jug from Trader Joe’s because it’s the best I’ve tasted within an affordable price range. 😉

Bring a good amount of balsamic vinegar to a boil in a medium saucepan (it will reduce by about half or more).  Stir constantly until it thickens and voila!  You just made a gourmet sauce that would wow anyone.

I made the mistake of not realizing how much of the vinegar becomes reduced.  I poured in at least a good 4 T., but had less than a teaspoon by the end.  Ah well.  Live and learn.  It was still enough to drizzle over my pizza…But I recommend pouring in a good cup or more.  I’ll get the exact measurements right one of these times and share it here on the blog. 😉

The sauce was so thick, it was more like a syrup!  It reminded me of a hot fudge sauce that desparately needs to be heated before it can be spread.  Thick.  Sweet.  Gooey.  Sticky, even!  No trace of vinegar flavor.  Just sweetness.  Pure, unadulterated sweetness.  It paired marveslously with the roasted mushrooms sitting on top of my pizza.  Props to Jessica for finally convincing me to make such a simply wonderful sauce. 😀

Question: Have you ever made a balsamic reduction sauce? 

Don’t forget to do a happy dance.  It’s not Friday yet, but Hump Day is officially here and I find that incredibly exciting…haha. :mrgreen:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “(not so) Fancy Schmancy Sauce

  1. Even better: I’ve got a bottle in my fridge full of already made balsamic reduction, from a gourmet store. Love it! It’s good on goat cheese too, on tomatoes, in salads, on grilled vegetables, on chicken and…on ice cream! (real italian trick: love it!)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  2. I’ve seen this in the store before – I didn’t know it was SO easy to make!! Balsamic vinegar is one of my favorite things on earth, so I know this would make me swoon. I am trying it soon – not in 3 years. 😉

  3. Hmmm, I’m not sure if I would like that or not. But I’ll try anything once. 🙂 And your pic makes it look very good anyway! YAY for being halfway through the week!

  4. Pingback: The potato adventures; and other related stories! « Just Living Life

Leave a Reply

