it’s the sauce

New month.  New beginnings.  New goals. 

Goal #1: Create a strength training workout routine (at least 2 times a week) and learn to enjoy it.

Goal #2: No tv for the entire month of July.

I’ve got to be honest with you guys.  Goal #2 is going to be tough for me.  And it’s not that I watch a lot of tv, but it’s always on after 9 o’clock as a brainless source of entertainment.  What would life be without that, I wonder.  And now I’ll find out.  The hardest part will be nixing my regular Tuesday night fix of Jillian Michaels.  Ah well.  Maybe I’ll go out for a run instead. 😉

Any new goals for the month of July?

Breakfast

Hot apples ‘n’ oats just felt right this morning. 

I love this combination of flavors.  It feels very “autumn” which fit with this morning’s chilly 58 degrees.  YES!  58 degrees.  July seems to already be full of surprises.

  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1/4 c. wheatbran
  • 1 c. milk + 3/4 c. water
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • 1 pink lady apple, diced small
  • toppings: 2 T. Galaxy Granola Maple Pecan Quinoa and a dollop of Justin’s Honey Peanut Butter

Morning Snack: A HUGE Grapefruit and a Handful of Almonds

And so my strength training goal has begun.  I spent 15 solid minutes of working out my arms, but I think I need a more structured plan.  And more ideas!  So if you have any strength training tips and tricks that you’d like to share, I would definitely love to hear them. 😀  The workout didn’t leave me begging for more (the goal is to learn to enjoy strength training too, after all ) but it did leave my arms sore and happy.

  • 3 sets of 20 one arm dumbbell rows
  • 3 sets of 15 bicep curls
  • planks…lots and lots of planks + side planks (for some strange reason, I love these )
  • 3 sets of 5 push-ups against the stairs
  • 3 sets of 10 chair dips

Lunch

Hummus sandwiches used to be my staple, go-to meal during college.  I love how convenient they are to make (as easy as pb&j!) and I love all the different hummus varieties out there.  Today I chose a garlic lover’s hummus which completely lived up to its name. 

I also scooped on some spicy black bean & corn salsa, along with two large tomato slices and some lettuce.  Hummus and salsa.  It’s a winning combination.

On the side, I added in some raw produce for c-r-u-n-c-h! 

Garlic.  Hummus.  Veggies.  Yum.

+ a square of 90% dark Lindt chocolate with a smear of Teddy chunky, salted peanut butter

Afternoon Snack: 6-oz. plain yogurt, 2 T. crushed flax, 1/2 banana, scoop of Pb&Company Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Dreams

Dinner

Here’s a confession: I’ve never been a pasta fan.  I’ve tried and I’ve tried, but to no avail.  And I consider this to be a downright shame.  After all, how can I consider myself a foodie, when I have such a deep dislike for something as innocent as a noodle?  What ever would happen if I visited Rome and left without ordering a giant plate of pasta?  *gasp* It’s basically a sin, and I know that full well.

But I can’t help it.  Pasta seems so boring to me.  Tasteless.  Stringy.  Nothing special.  It’s the sauce that people remember.  It’s the sauce that makes people bring their hands to their lips with a loud “smack”—mwuahh!—as they indulge with a deep sigh of pleasure.  It’s the sauce that makes an Italian restaurant famous.

It’s the sauce! 

And maybe the meatballs.

My mom is an expert at both, and she keeps her recipe tucked away like an ancient treasure.  It’s thick, it’s chunky and it’s top secret. 

As an aside, I’m sure some poor Italian would be crying right now if they saw that I used this sauce to top my sauteed zucchini and vidalia onion, along with some steamed baby lima beans.  What can I say?  It’s the sauce!  And the meatballs. 

Side Salad

+ two slices of homemade bread for dipping

Question: When it comes to spaghetti, is it all about the sauce, the pasta itself, or both? 

16 thoughts on “it’s the sauce

  1. I think the sauce is the best part, although sometimes I’ll pick at the leftover pasta when I’m putting it in containers as leftovers. A sauce with a lot of texture and flavor is the best – like when it’s loaded with chunks of tomato, olives, onions, and other veggies.

  2. I totally agree! I have NEVER liked noodles and I always thought it was weird that people would rather eat spaghetti over bread!! I don’t really like rice either though, but I recently discovered bulgur and I love it! So nutty and hearty, not flimsy and weak like noodles and rice. However, the whole wheat noodles and brown rice are better because they have some taste.
    Well I am glad there are others out there like me 🙂

  3. im def the sauce girl!! pastas are flavorless honestly. i havent met a pasta that i ADORE. they are just there for the ride!! they are just needed to build on top of!

  4. I think the thing about pasta is that if you were to have it fresh in Italy, then it would be more of an experience than throwing some dry pasta from a cardboard box into a pot to boil. So if I were you, I would keep to sauce and meatballs while in the states and then if you ever go to Italy, make sure to try homemade fresh pasta and I am sure that you will appreciate the experience and the taste!! 🙂

  5. Loving a ‘hot breakfast’ like that in summer too, we’re strange;)
    And goal 2 is pretty hard I think, good luck, curious how it goes!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  6. Honestly, I love, love, love pasta!! 🙂 And I don’t need sauce to like it. I love pasta tossed with a bit of olive oil and dusted with freshly grated parmesan cheese. Hmmmmm!! So I’m to the other extreme. Who needs sauce?? Ha, ha.

  7. Good work on the strength training! Also, that TV challenge would be SO hard for me…it’s such a habit for us to watch TV after dinner. Maybe I’ll take a TV detox month when I start school again. Thanks for the inspiration.

    I don’t like pasta either, the sauce though…yum!

  8. Tomato sauce is one of my FAVORITE things. I could top anything with fresh, delicious tomato sauce. Although I do like pasta, I’d rather have a little pasta with my sauce instead of the other way around!

  9. You don’t have to love pasta. Try spaghetti squash, or if you prefer zucchini, here’s a neat kitchen tool I have that whips them into long shreds, much like noodles: http://www.wmf.com/profi-plus-_82511284/julienne-knife-profi-plus_98418.html?sid=5F035751-6463-4C41-8BDE-22A9E3A50953. I think you can get on Amazon? I bought it for about $12.00 at a grocery store w/ a gourmet cooking department.

    And, don’t worry about not ordering the giant plate of pasta in Rome. Europeans don’t eat gargantuan portions like Americans do. Often pasta is a small course, served as an appetizer course before the meat course.

    Enjoy your veggie pasta!

Leave a Reply

