Weekend Highlights

Highlight #1: Eating Breakfast with Nicole (aka, loving simple moments)

You know you have a true best friend when you can gush for a good 10 minutes with each other about how much you love bananas and peanut butter. 😉  We both agree that bananas, peanut butter and milk makes for the best smoothie combination.  No competition. 

For ONE:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 T. peanut butter
  • 1 c. milk
  • crushed ice

Highlight #2: BLUEBERRIES!

Lots and lots of blueberries.  You already know how much I’m obsessed with these summer beauties.  Today was the day to pick to my heart’s content.

…unfortunately, the berries had other plans.  And, might I add, Nicole—with great speed and efficiency—whipped out her camera to capture the moment of my spilling the berries. 

“Don’t cry over spilled berries.”—Nicole

Highlight #3: More BERRIES!

We moved on to pick strawberries.  Sweet, sweet strawberries.  These are ten times better then the ones I picked last week, and that’s saying a *lot* since the ones last week were delicious as well.  I love summer!

Highlight #4: Embarking on a scavenger hunt to find and eat a nutty buddy.

I grew up with the nutty buddy.  It was the treat of choice on every Sunday, when my dad would pull up to a convenience store and announce that we each could choose whichever icecream we preferred.  It was always the nutty buddy.  Always.

And so, Nicole and I have made it our mission to find this nutty buddy and eat it.  However, it is nowhere!!!  We searched high and low.  Nada.  Zippo.  Zilch.  Nothing.

I pouted.  A lot.

But then I was reminded of the fact that it’s not the destination that matters, it’s the journey to get there.  This sounds so cliche, but it’s totally true.  I loved every minute of hiking across town in my flip-flops with Nicole. And in the end, we ended up at a Dunkin Donuts where Nicole treated us both to a skim iced latte.  It was the perfect way to refresh after all our journey-ing. 

Highlight #5: Relaxing

Coffees.  Sitting on the deck.  Laughing.  Being silly.  Girl talk.  Best friend.

+ one very loveable cat named Stitch

Highlight #6: More Berries.

Red.  White.  Blue.

I filled up a ramekin with blueberries, strawberries and a dollop of whipped cream (leftover from a trifle I made for tomorrow!)  So sweet and wonderful.

Question: What was the highlight(s) of YOUR day???

11 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights

  1. lovely day!! but – words cannot even describe just how jealous i am of all those berries! our strawberry season is done, and blueberries are yet to arrive. i’m in berry limbo!!
    highlight of my day? working with my pony, farmer’s market, driving around some town looking for a tag sale with my mom, and the WEATHER!

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more about the smoothie thing. Sometimes people try to get all fancy, but there is nothing better than a simple pb and banana smoothie! In fact, I think you have inspired me to make one today!

  3. hey girlie!!
    LOVE the highlights of your day! Berries and iced latte are definitely a daily highlight for me too! along with watermelon and running! 🙂
    have a beautiful 4th! xoxo!

  4. ” We both agree that bananas, peanut butter and milk makes for the best smoothie combination. No competition. ”

    I totally agree 🙂

    I live in NH too.. maybe we should meet up and make some smoothies together sometime?

  5. I got a manicure! I needed one badly since everyone can see my fingers on my blog!
    Those blueberries look beautiful! your making me crave blueberry muffins!

Leave a Reply

