hiking & summer

This morning demanded a filling breakfast.  This morning demanded oats. 

Same ol’, same ol’ as yesterday, except with the substitution of walnuts for the coconut.  I absolutely love this summery combo!

The reason I needed such a filling breakfast, you ask?

This:

That would be Mt. Monadnock.  It’s not a 4,000ft mountain, but I definitely find it to be one of the more challenging hikes in New Hampshire.  Personal experience.  But this mountain also rewards you with a fantastic view from the top, which makes it all so worth it.

This is what I call lunch with a view.  I would love to be up here at sunset someday.  Maybe I should add that to my Life’s To-Do’s. 😉

My parents and I had such an awesome time, but were completely zonked from the sun by the time we got back to the bottom.  Some of the trail was in the shade, but a lot of it (at least 1-2 hrs. worth of hiking time) was spent in the sun.  Dad was smart to bring a hat.  At least I loaded up on the sunscreen to keep my skin protected. 😉

And, when all is said and done, all I want is pizza (or anything with salt!!) after a long day of hiking.  My parents agreed.

Tomatoes.  Broccoli.  Mushrooms.  Onions.  Peppers.  One deliciously doughy and flaky crust.  Three hungry hikers.

What.  A.  Day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

These past three days have been filled—-absolutely FILLED—with summer.  I almost don’t want it to end. 😀

Campfires.

Cookouts with Family.

Corn on the Cob.

Being Silly and Laughing.

Berry Picking. 

Berry Eating. 

Visiting Farms.

Fresh Strawberries.

Homemade Strawberry Desserts.

Flip-Flops.

Family.

Fourth of July.

Playing volleyball in my bare feet.

Watermelon.

Relaxing.

Peace.

Question: Have you ever gone hiking?  Do you enjoy it?  Where would you go hiking if you could go anywhere?

21 thoughts on “hiking & summer

  1. Wow – what an amazing view! I like doing a few hikes each year but haven’t been up to the mountains yet this year. It’s such a great form of exercise and way to socialize!

  2. I absolutely love hiking. I went to Mount Desert Island a few years ago in Maine and it had awesome hiking, I keep saying that one of these summers I’m going to go on a hiking trip again, but I need to get some other people into it first.

  3. I unfortunately will never be found hiking. I really dont like/cant stand the heat. If there was no heat or bugs, I would go out to where my family skis in the winter as it is beautiful out there!!

  4. So the weather ended up being shitty (freezing cold, snow, pouring rain, ice rain…) for the Mount Washington hike that I was hoping to do last week and we could only make it about halfway 😦
    I DID do Mt. Lafayette though which was awesome! I’ll have a recap either tonight or tomorrow.
    Monadnock is on my list of hikes too. I interviewed for a job in Keene NH a few years back and the people at the company were telling me all about that hike. I thought, I must do it!

  5. fresh strawberries are the best. & that hike sounds so intense but beautiful- i’m jealous 🙂 I don’t have much experience with hiking

  6. haha…i LOVE that last picture of you and your sister!

    that view from the top is gorgeous! i seriously wish wisconsin had more places to hike. what a fabulous looking weekend my dear!

    happy tuesday 🙂

  7. I hiked a bit last summer with my boyfriend, his little girls, his sister, and his dadcwgen we drove to north Dakota last summer and we had so much fun! I remember craving something salty after it as well!

  8. I’d love to go hiking in the Rockies sometime! I live pretty much in the Appalachians and they are gorgeous 🙂

  9. Wow, gorgeous pics and looks like you had a great time. I’m drooling over that trifle! I love hiking and there are some great places here in Southern California, in fact in high school (which was located near a trail) we had a hiking club.

Leave a Reply

