rising temperatures

As soon as I rolled out of bed this morning, I felt it.  Humidity.  Summer.  Heat.  Sweat.  It was already 80 degrees at 6 o’clock, and it reached 96 by noon.  Let’s not even discuss the fact that the heat indice was at 104 degrees. 

Needless to say, today’s eats were all about the chill factor. 

Breakfast

  • 1/2 c. uncooked oatmeal
  • 2 T. wheat bran
  • 6-oz. plain yogurt + 2 T. crushed flax
  • 1/2 chilled banana (not frozen…just chilled in the fridge)
  • 1/2 c. chilled blueberries

Oats In A Jar!

Morning Snack: 2 chilly kiwi

All I wanted to do this morning was pass out in front of the fan and put an ice cold face cloth on my forehead.  Workout Shmurkout.  And then I remembered my strength training goals for July.  And with one loud “harumph”, I dragged myself away from the window fan and threw myself into a plank.  Let’s begin.

My mind wasn’t really into the strength training routine.  At all.  And then when it came time for me to do a push-up against the stairs, I realized that I went through 5 on the third set without a problem.  Where did that come from?  Last week, my arms were shaking by my third set.  Suddenly, I was grinning from ear to ear.  Feeling results—what a wonderful thing. 😀

Lunch

There are certain criteria that every lunch must meet.  It changes on a day to day basis. 

Today’s criteria:  Cold.  Crunchy.  Satisfying.  Tasty.  Nutritious.  A salad seemed about right.

  • mixed romaine
  • 1 carrot
  • 1/2 of a garden fresh tomato
  • 1/4 c. garbanzo beans
  • wild caught salmon (sold in a can at whole foods) mixed with relish, mayo, cumin and a dash of cayenne
  • sprinklin’ of feta

+ kashis (crunch)

It completely hit the spot. 😀

+ an iced au lait while studying (1 c. chilled coffee + 1/2 c. soymilk + 1 tsp sugar)

Afternoon Snack: 6-oz. vanilla yogurt, 1/2 chilled banana, 1 T. crushed flax

Who wants to cook over a hot oven when it’s 96 degrees out?  Certainly not I.  Although the thought of roasting a head of broccoli did cross my mind.  For a second or two.  And then it was back to reality.  Keep it simple, Sarah.

And so I did.

Somehow I came up with a pasta salad concoction. It was kind of the ideal way to go in such high temperatures.  Only a quick bout of heat was required, followed by an afternoon of chilling in the fridge. 

Chilled Pesto Pasta

  • 1 lb. wheat pasta, cooked, drained and rinsed (save some of the cooking liquid in case you need to thin out the pesto)
  • 1 batch of pesto (2 c. packed fresh basil leaves, 2 T. walnuts, 2 T. grated fresh parmesan, 2 garlic cloves, 3 T. olive oil, salt and pepper)
  • 1 can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • a few handfuls of green beans, ends removed (bring to a boil for 2-3 minutes until crisp/tender…then douse in chilled ice bath to stop the cooking)

Mix above ingredients.  Chill for at least 3-4 hrs.  Season with salt and pepper.  Drizzle balsamic vinegar on top and toss.  ENJOY! 😀

It actually came out really, really tasty!  It would be delicious topped with feta or goat cheese as well. 😀 

+ dessert!

I.  Am.  So.  Overheated.  I think I need to head to the basement with a snack and a book soon, just for a relief from this heat!

Question: Do you continue workouts as usual during a really hot spree, or do you change it according to the weather?  I definitely change it.  I’ll cut myself some slack and don’t work out as intensely or as long.  And working out in the morning or after dinner is the key for keeping me cool. 😀

12 thoughts on “rising temperatures

  1. Oif – your temperatures make me greatful for our heat index of “only” 100! isn’t it awful?!
    I love that you love raw oats with yogurt, too. And the pasta salad looks delish – I was actually craving one for lunch when I drove home today, but then wanted something faster. I think you may have just inspired me to go cook pasta for a cool salad for tomorrow’s dinner, though!
    Have a great night, try and stay cool!

  2. I’ve just been waking up earlier to get the cooler weather with my workouts 🙂 The heat really is a bogger though

  3. I try to run a little less when it is hot out, but I also try to get out there earlier. I am training for a marathon right now so unfortunately running less isn’t an option. Time to suck it up 😉

  4. I try and run first thing in the morning during the summertime to beat the heat. It has to be early morning, which means I have to go to bed early. Not always easy, but I’d like to start training for a marathon, so unfortunately, it’s necessary at the moment! At least I get the workout out of the way! What are you studying for?

    • I have a nutrition internship lined up for the fall, and there are a couple exams/quiz type of assignments that I need to have completed before it starts. Most of the time, I don’t mind doing it though, because a lot of the material is really interesting. 😀

  5. I’ve definitely cut down on the workouts this summer…it’s just too much right now! Sounds lazy, but whatever 🙂 I actually had cereal this morning for the first time in FOREVER…it was just too hot for regular oatmeal!

    I’m glad you’re seeing some workout results! I’m starting some pilates tomorrow, so hopefully I’ll see some toning in a few weeks 😀

  6. I definitely need to work on making chilled pasta salads! Yesterday required it!! 🙂 And I usually change up my workout when it’s super hot. It’s usually less intense (kind of like what I’m doing now to recover from this knee injury). 🙂

  7. its sometimes so hard to workout in the heat at the same intensity that you would otherwise, the heat makes me so tired anyways, and then working out and sweating on top of that can be a challenge sometimes! so I do give myself some slack, for sure!

    I made homeade pesto yesterday and it was DELICIOUS! i am a new huge fan of pesto! i never appreciated it before, and now I love it!

  8. You can send a little of your heat here!!

    I work out earlier or later when the weather gets hot. No mid-day runs for me – although sometimes I’ll go to the air conditioned gym to get strength training done in the summer.

Leave a Reply

