Staying Cool

Temperature: 96 degrees.  Goal: Stay cool.  Problem: No air conditioning, no pool, no yogurt. 

Introducing the Country Gal’s Guide to Staying Cool.  Although I’m pretty sure it would work for city gals and guys too…

1. Plan on an early workout.

This morning I was up by 6 and out the door by 6:30.  With a water bottle in tow, my 4 mile run left me feeling invigorated.  Not wilted. 

2. Make the most chilly breakfast you can possibly think of.

Yogurt.  Cereal.  Overnight Oats.  Breakfast Cookies.  Or, in this case, a berry banana smoothie.

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 c. frozen blueberries
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • toppings: 2 T. Natures Path Pumpkin Flax Granola

Chillin’ out.

…as an aside, I always need some sort of chewy or crunchy carb on the side.  Otherwise, I just don’t feel satisfied.  Strange, but true.  A whole wheat english muffin with a pat of Justin’s Honey Roasted Peanut Butter did the trick. 😀

3. Read.  A lot.

The sweltering afternoon heat and humidity is not my friend—at all.  Sitting in front of a fan and reading, on the other hand, is. 

4. If suffering from lack of appetite, take the mini-meal route.

Extreme heat = loss of appetite.  I make up for it with mini-meals that keep me fueled without making me feel weighed down or overheated.  Pair a protein with your snack to make it well balanced and rounded out.  Today I went with a chilly nectarine and a handful of almonds…

…kashi crackers with garlic hummus…

…and a slightly larger meal later on, which included two fried eggs, two whole wheat toasts with a pat of butter and a large handful of garden fresh green beans.  Okay, so eggs don’t exactly make the most coolest of lunches ever, but I honest to goodness always crave them after a sweaty run.  😀

5. Play with water.

No pool, no problem.  A hose will do just fine.  I washed my car from hood to fender, and got myself wet while I was at it. 

Clean car.  Chilly water.  Cooled off.

6. Keep the oven off.

I wanted summer on a plate for dinner.  I also wanted to keep the oven off.  In other words, dinner became a hodgepodge of leftovers which I love.

One veggie burger with a smiling ketchup grin.  A few scoops of leftover pesto pasta salad.  Stir fried zucchini and summer squash, sauteed in a bit of olive oil, cumin, cayenne, and salt. 

+ caffeine free diet coke.  I’m not a soda kind of person, but this bottle was staring me in the face, and I couldn’t refuse it.  Once in a while (especially when it’s really, really hot out) I like a glass of diet coke to sip on. 😀

7. Never say never.

This has nothing to do with staying cool, other than the fact that I never say never to icecream.  And icecream is cool.  So there you have it.

One blissful scoop of Coconut Bliss Dark Chocolate. 

8. Sit in front of the fan…

9. ..while contemplating all the lovely things you plan on doing at the beach the following day… 😀

10. Question: What are some of your favorite ways to stay cool during the summer?

12 thoughts on “Staying Cool

  1. 11. Move to Colorado where it’s been raining all day.

    But in all seriousness, a lot of your tips are things I do myself. Sometimes I go sit at Starbucks and read or blog because there is AC there. Smoothies and salads are also a must. Hope it cools off a little for you tomorrow!

    • ugh, it totally has! Colorado is crazy, I’m actually wearing a sweatshirt in July. ?? Still eating the smoothies, salads and cereal though 😉

  2. I was making a mental checklist in my head as I read your list…I’m pretty sure I did over half of those things today. Mini-meals, cooler breakfasts, reading, ice cream, and instead of sitting in front of a fan, I saw Eclipse in a cool movie theater.

    Terrible, terrible movie. But nice air conditioning 🙂

  3. Great tips! I love all your cool summertime meals, I need some more inspiration now that it’s warmed up. I think I’ll be getting up early for an AM run tomorrow, as well!

  4. First of all, you cheated. At the beginning, you said ‘no yogurt’ but then you had yogurt for breakfast! Ha, ha!! 😉 I’m your sistah, so I have the right to tease you a little, right? 🙂 LOVE your stay-cool list though! I needed it yesterday… and all week for that matter!

  5. As a a fellow country gal whose AC doesn’t work/my mom is super hesitant to use it even when it does work, your tips are great! I was also up super early for a run, but it’s worth it to get it out of the way and you don’t have to think about it while roasting later on in the day!

  6. So many of your tips are the things I’ve been doing to stay cool – eating smaller meals, eating cold breakfasts (lots of smoothies), and going on early morning runs. I’ve also been sitting outside more than in, because we don’t have air conditioning either, and it tends to be cooler outside.

Leave a Reply

