Beach Babes

Yes!  Finally!!! 

I am a beach bum at heart.  Warm sand on my feet.  Wind in my face.  The smell of salty sea air.  The water—delicious, refreshing, and shimmering water.  I’ve always been a fish, but this trait comes out even more after a few days or so of (barely) surviving a major heat wave.  Water.  Give me water.  Preferrably the ocean.

Yep, the beach is where its at. 

Oh, and just FYI, this is not the only shirt I own.  I realize that I’m always wearing it whenever my picture gets taken, but it just so happens to be my workout, slash, “I don’t care if it gets sweaty and dirty” shirt.  Not to be gross or anything.  Just figured I’d point that out. 😉

Beach bum partner!  Aka, Mom.

Aside from all the obvious reasons of why I love the beach so much, I also happen to love the food.  Growing up, my mom would pack my siblings and I egg salad sandwiches, along with orange soda.  There’s something about swimming all day and then running back through warm sand, feeling achy and jiggly in the legs from being all active, and then being welcomed with a big beach towl and cold-packed sandwiches.  It makes me smile.  Just the thought of it. 😀

Today I packed snacks and sandwiches for both my mom and I, keeping it simple, cool and beachy. 

Speaking of beachy fare, you will love this hummus recipe if you (a) like the taste of garlic and/or (b) sigh over basil. 

Basil Hummus

  • 1, 15oz. can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 bunch of fresh basil
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and cut in half OR garlic powder sprinkled liberally
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • salt to taste

Blend all the ingredients together in a food processor.  Add a little water if you want to thin it out a bit!  Enjoy! 😀

There was also fresh fruit in the form of kiwis and sliced pears…

…plus sandwiches!  Always sandwiches.  It’s a must for every beach occasion. 😀

I smeared some Justin’s honey roasted peanut butter with a dab of homemade strawberry jam onto two slices of bread.  So cold.  So sweet.  So beachy.

This grumpy guy was getting mad at me.  “Share!  Share!  Share!” he seemed to be screaming.  But I didn’t listen.  I blocked him out and resumed my reading.  He then flew over to another beach bum gal and won her—and her sandwich—over.  I swear he gave me an evil glare before flying away to find another willing soul.  Ah well…

Today was such a blast.  I love the beach.  I love Maine.  I love New England.

Already, I’m counting the days until I return. 😀

Question: Do you love the beach?  What is your favorite part about the beach?

16 thoughts on “Beach Babes

  1. I love the beach and really miss Tampa though I love the mountains where I am now. Not a fan of sand getting everywhere but the waves are the BEST part!

  2. I’m actually not that big of a beach person…the people that usually flock to typical Florida beaches are so obnoxious. Call me a snob, but whatever 😉

    I do miss the beach, though, obnoxious people or not…it’s been FOREVER since I’ve been to one! Glad you had fun!

  3. Perfect!! I love the beach so much – the sunshine, the cool water. It’s so beautiful. Also, that basil hummus – heck yeah! I SCREAM for fresh basil – I bet that is unreal. 🙂 Glad you got to cool off today!

  4. All of your pictures are gorgeous! I haven’t been to the beach since August 2006, but I’ve been itching to go back ever since! I just love the whole trip: being on vacation, wave catcing on boogy boards, putt putt, fresh seafood,…I could go on & on! 🙂

  5. I would love to go to the East coast! It has been on my list of travels for a few years now. I think having warm sand underneath you is one of the best feelings in the world!

  6. I grew up on the ocean and have always lived no more than 5 miles from the coast (grew up in British Columbia and now live near Laguna Beach, CA) and I have to say there’s nothing better than a sea breeze and the waves crashing. I used to drive to the beach and eat my lunch with my windows down, periodically closing my eyes and losing myself in the screech of seagulls and smashing of waves into each other and the wet sand.

    Also I’d like to know if there is any better feeling than burrowing your feet in a warm pack of sand and letting the grains slip in and out of your toes.

  7. Pingback: a completely random day « Running To Slow Things Down

  8. Pingback: summed up in five words « Running To Slow Things Down

  9. Pingback: an ode to the year of 2010 « Running To Slow Things Down

Leave a Reply

