Home

Home.  There are definitely a few things on the agenda, after a week of vacationing.

First, I wanted green. 

Breakfast

  • 1/2 banana, frozen
  • 1 c. blueberries, frozen
  • 1 large handful of red kale
  • 1 packet of Amazing Grass SuperFood
  • 1 c. soymilk

On top, I sprinkled some Natures Path Pumpkin Flax Granola.  Honestly, I don’t know if I would ever buy Amazing Grass.  I kind of liked the taste of this one (grassy meets peppermint) but only because it felt right.  Psychologically healthy.  I wouldn’t put stock in it as being a “super food” and I’d much rather eat the real food then pay extra money for the powder form.  But it’s still fun. :mrgreen:

 

 On the side, I had a whole wheat toast with peanut butter.

 

 This was the most perfect post-vacation breakfast.  I was beginning to have some serious smoothie withdrawals while on vacation.  I hope that’s normal. 😉

 Next on the agenda: some sort of sweat session.  Biking sounded like the perfect option.  I pedaled my way through fields, past horse stables, over highways, near farm stands.  Eleven miles of sweaty summer fun.  Bliss.  Kicking myself out the door and onto my bike is a battle, but once I’m out there, I love every bit of it.  Even those insane hills that threaten to slow me down.  I feel so victorious when I conquer them.  :mrgreen:

Lunch

I couldn’t decide what I wanted for lunch, so I had a bit of everything.  Mostly, I wanted green.  Lots and lots of green.

A large salad became the building block for a trio of flavors.  Spicy = salsa.  Salty = 1% cottage cheese.  Savory = Basil Hummus.  A slice of jarlsberg cheese and a whole wheat tortilla were thrown in for good measure. 

After lunch, I took a run (not literally) to Dicks Sporting Goods for some new sneaks.  With my running schedule all out of wack, I’m not exactly sure how many miles I’ve been logging.  But since I use my Asics for walking and running and biking, I decided to just go with the ol’ 5 month rule of determining when to replace them. 

The new ones (right) feel so cushiony and light.  I love them.  And so do my knees. 😀

 

 Afternoon Snack: 6-oz. plain yogurt, 2 T. crushed flax, 1/2 banana, about 2 T. Galaxy Granola

 

 It feels so good to be eating normal snacks, normal meals, at normal times.  It does wonders for keeping me energized. 😀 

Dinner

Pizza can make for such a nutritious dinner.  Whole wheat crust.  Veggies.  Lots of veggies.  Your imagination—and the size of your pizza pan—is really the only limit.

I pulled a batch of frozen, uncooked, homemade whole wheat pizza dough from the freezer last night in order to be used for tonight’s dinner.  Easy Peasy.  It’s nice not having to put too much thought into cooking dinner once in a while. 😉

For the sauce, I combined a can of diced tomatoes (drained) with garlic powder, basil and oregano.  I then proceeded to clean out the veggie drawer and used up the last green pepper, some fresh mushrooms and a vidalia onion.  Plus some reduced fat sargento 4-cheese italian blend.  Ooey gooey deliciousness.

 

I think I could live on pizza, if there weren’t so many other foods out there, just waiting to be tried.  And, if it just so happened to make a completely balanced lifestyle choice.  Which it doesn’t.  A girl can dream, though. 😉

Question: If you could theoretically live on any one food item or meal, what would it be?

15 thoughts on “Home

  1. I don’t know if I’ve ever commented before? Regardless, I read your blog all the time and I thought it was time for me to finally speak up!

    If I had to pick one food, it would have to be oatmeal. I can’t get enough of it, either in a sweet or savory form. That pizza does look divine though 🙂

    ❤ Tat

  2. Pizza. Definitely pizza. I mean, you can do SO many things with it!! Oh man, pizza has my soul 🙂

  3. I think I’m going to have to say cereal. I love it for breakfast, but I’ve been known to eat it for lunch or supper… or dessert. Ha, ha. It’s the only thing that I eat EVERY single day… and sometimes twice a day. 🙂 And I’m jealous of your bikeride. I miss my bike already!

  4. It takes me a little bit to get my butt out the door on my bike too but love it when I finally get out there 🙂

  5. i made homemade pizza this week too – it was SOOOOO good!

    the rest of your vacay looked positively lovely. you managed to eat incredibly healthy, whole foods while in NH and i commend you for that!

  6. I would live off kabocha. But it is so expensive…so maybe gummy bears. 🙂

    I’ve tried Amazing Grass before but had to give it away…didn’t really like it much…I’d rather eat more food!

Leave a Reply

