easy as a pizza pie

I don’t know what I was thinking.

 

Last night, I envisioned myself sitting down for 8 hours.  Finishing homework.  Completing the powerpoint presentation.  Finishing.

But, really, who was I fooling?  Sitting down for such a long period of time is not possible.  Was not possible.  I gave up after the first hour and decided that I would be more productive if I gave myself mini-breaks spread throughout the day.  😉

Breakfast

Pb&Jam and Banana Oats!

I wanted a pb and jelly sandwich.  I wanted oatbran.  I wanted both.

I cooked up a nice big batch of banana ‘n’ oatbran (my regular, go-to recipe) and topped it off with granola, coconut, Trader Joe’s raspberry jam (which tastes surprisingly close to homemade!), and a big scoop of Teddy peanut butter.

The best of both worlds.

Lunch

You all know how much I love my salmon.  Especially the wild caught variety.

My family has tried all kinds of marmalades and toppings, but I alwasy go back to preferring the simpler side of things.  My dad poured on a teensy amount of Lite Soy Sauce for flavor, sprinkled on some freshly cracked black pepper, and grilled that baby up.  No words.  None.  Zilch.  I think I could live on salmon (I say this about a lot of things, don’t I?)

On the side, I had 1/2 a large sweet potato and some steamed green & wax beans that I picked up from a local organic farm.

Afternoon Snack: 6-oz. yogurt + 2 T. crushed flax + Pumpkin Flax Granola + Trader Joe’s Almond Butter

This afternoon, there were blue skies smiling at me…

…begging me to go outside.  The sky seemed to be saying, “Sarah, you need some Vitamin D.  Come on out and play!”

I couldn’t say no!  I have absolutely no willpower when it comes to such things. 

I grabbed two prunes for a source of psychological energy (running without eating something—anything!—beforehand always makes me feel ‘draggy’…I’m convinced it’s all mental!) before waltzing my way out the door.

 

I’m normally not much of an afternoon runner, but today’s run was fantastic.  I focused on keeping my pace slow and even, while just having fun with my new sneakers.  Hopping over curbs.  Running in dirt paths.  Taking in the summery breeze.  Feeling strong.

The run in three words: Wonderful.  Brisk.  Delicious.

Three and a half miles later, I was home icing my knees and feeling on top of the world.  I think I need to start introducing more afternoon runs for a fun change of pace.  😀

Dinner

This is my quintessential “quick and easy” pizza recipe.  It’s not quite as crisp, airy and amazing as my other pizza dough recipe (under the “Recipe” section,) but it’s super fast and still delicious.  No rising required.  You’ll have it on the table in no time. And it may just save you from ordering takeout when you want pizza in a hurry during a busy night.  And that, my friends, is what makes this pizza recipe a true family favorite. 😀

pizza slice x 2

 

Quick and Easy Pizza

  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 c. warm water
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 2-1/2 c. whole wheat flour (or a mixture of white and wheat if you prefer)
  • additional toppings: favorite sauce (I use canned tomato sauce with garlic powder, fresh basil and oregano added in) and veggies
  1. Dissolve yeast in warm water.  Stir in remaining ingredients until stiff ball forms.  Let rest about 5 minutes.
  2. Spread dough out on sprayed cookie sheet.  Add sauce and veggies.
  3. Cook at 425 for 18 minutes.

+ a side salad

 

+ 85% dark chocolate (Green and Black = my favorite)

Guess what?  After paying for the first installment this afternoon, I’m officially registered into the Dietetic Internship.  It feels so…I don’t know.  Official!! :mrgreen: 

Question: Do you prefer working out in the morning, later in the afternoon, or at night?

18 thoughts on “easy as a pizza pie

  1. Mmm, I could live off salmon, too!

    Glad you took some mini-breaks…it would be freaky intense to work on school work for EIGHT HOURS straight!! Ahh! Congrats on being officially registered into your internship! So exciting 🙂

    I’m definitely a morning or afternoon exerciser. After dinner, I’m done for the day, unless it’s weight lifting. I usually just go by the weather outside…

  2. I used to be an afternoon runner, when I felt like my body was all warmed up from the day. But I was determined at the start of the summer to start running in the morning, and now I’ve developed that habit so much that afternoon runs feel strange to me. It might change depending on my schedule this fall, but for now I enjoy running in the cool of morning.

  3. I ❤ salmon!

    I am totally a morning workout person. It helps energize me for the rest of the day and if I do it first thing I won't skip it later in the day.

  4. Haha… your lunch was my dinner almost every night for awhile. I went through a phase of beans, sweet potatoes and salmon. Of course my sweet potatoes were usually drowning in tahini.. but still 😛

    The oats look absolutely beautiful. How can a bowl of food look like a work of art?
    ❤ Tat

  5. Pizza looks delicious! I had pizza too yesterday!

    And I’m the same with studying: 7 hours? Way too long!:P

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  6. I prefer working out in the morning, but I can’t because of my job. I already get up at 5:30am as it is. 🙂 So I leave the morning work-outs for the weekends and force myself to go after work. I find that if I’m patient and wait for the later part of the day — when the summer sun has cooled — it’s pretty much like working out in the morning anyway. 🙂

  7. I prefer mornings – but sometimes that’s just not feasible due to working 8-5 so I end up going after work. I try to at least hit the gym two to three times a week at 5am. Makes me tired thinking about it.

  8. Salmon is family favorite in my house too!

    As for working out, I love mornings. It’s quiet, peaceful, and a perfect jump start to the day! Plus, it’s fun to be outside when the sun comes up. It will be pitch black when I start my run, but bright and sunny at the end. Amazing!

  9. I use a pizza crust recipe like that so often. It’s so nice when pizza can come together in a matter of moments. I also LOVE spontaneous exercise! I usually like to run in the AM…but when I do strength training, it can be whenever.

  10. i am such a morning workout person. If Im not running by 10 then im not running for the day haha.

    I need to try the PB & J oats. That is the one blog creation I have yet to try with my oats.

  11. Congrats on the official enrollment! I bet you’re excited 🙂
    That bowl that your breakfast was in is gorgeous! Love it. And thank you for sharing your quick and easy pizza dough recipe 🙂 I never really know what I’m want until I’m hungry, which is sort of a pain when it comes to wanting something that usually is time consuming, like pizza!

Leave a Reply

