tacklin’ the homework

I didn’t want to wake up this morning.  The sun was just beginning to scatter its light through the blinds of my window, my fan was making a hypnotic ‘mmrrrrr’ sound, and I was in that comfy spot.  But then I smelled coffee.  And heard people talking.  I lifted one eye to take a peak at the alarm clock sitting on my bed.

6:00am

It felt too early to function, but I got up anyways.  May as well get a good head start on the internship homework.

But nobody said I had to be creative with breakfast.  So I kind of wasn’t.  But it still tasted amazing. :mrgreen:

“Un”Overnight Oats—mix together directly before eating

  • 1/2 c. raw oatmeal
  • 6-oz. plain yogurt mixed with 2 T. crushed flax
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • scoop of almond butter

 

 Mornin’ Snack: an unpictured orange

Do you know how long it’s been since I did any sort of yoga?  I have no idea.  In other words, it’s been a long, long while. 

I spent a good 20 minutes entering into sun salutations, planks, side planks, crow poses, tree poses, you name it.  And then I entered into a downward dog.  I can’t believe I used to be able to plant both feet flat on the ground.  Pssshhh.  You should have seen me this morning.  My calves were as tight as a t-shirt that’s two sizes too small.  Not pretty.

It’s okay though.  This is ground zero, and there’s no place to go but forward.  It’s one of the things that I love most about yoga. 😀

Lunch

Leftover Lentil Curry from yesterday.  Two slices of whole wheat toasts for dipping ‘n’ dunking.  Sliced cucumber from the garden.  Raw carrots.  Crunchin’, munchin’!!  Love these kinds of lunches. 😀

 

+ a chunk of 85% dark 

Afternoon Snack: Kiwis and almonds

 

 I knocked off a lot of homework this afternoon and my brain is still filled with things like enteral tube feedings and hypertension.  Which is good.  One thing I’m noticing about the nutrition field, is that nothing really sunk in the first time around.  But after 4 years of college, the information is finally starting to linger.  I can only imagine what I’ll know after the internship.  *Sigh*.  Can you tell I’m excited?

Dinner

Summer in a bowl. 

Mixed greens.  Cucumbers.  Carrots.  Broccoli.  Fresh corn on (off?) the cob.  Black Bean Chipotle Gardenburger.  Extra virgin olive oil & balsamic vinegar.

It was so fresh.  So crunchy.  So flavorful.  So summery. 

 

For dessert, I pulled the other half of my whole wheat chocolate chip banan bread out from the freezer.  This is by far my favorite banana bread ever.  It’s so moist.  So sweet.  So rich.  Nobody will ever know it’s made with all whole wheat flour.  Trust me. 😀

I need to finish up the grocery list for tomorrow.  Any healthy recipes that you think I absolutely must make?  Even if I don’t get to them this week, I’m always looking for new recipes to try in the future. 😀

Question: Favorite summer meal?

22 thoughts on “tacklin’ the homework

  1. Have you ever made gazpacho? Such a great summer meal. Good ol BLTs are good (I use veggie alternatives), any recipe that makes summer tomatoes shine without cooking them too much, in my opinion! That looks like oatmeal pudding, I may have to try un overnight oats!

  2. My favorite summer breakfast is a smoothie (currently being made with bananas, berries, rice milk, and lettuce, cause it’s growing like crazy in our garden) and topped with granola or muesli and nut butter. And for dinner I like to make pasta salads with fresh veggies and cheeses.

  3. You have the cutest dishes. Small dishes are my favorite, you can never have too many of them.

    Right now I’m all about things cold 🙂
    I’ve been looking for a recipe for a good chilled bean salad. Lots of different beans plus string beans tossed with herbs and vinegar for a kick.

  4. I really need to make that banana bread in the next few weeks! The hubby would love it. 🙂 And my favorite summer meal?? Hmmm, probably grilled chicken, a pasta or potato salad, and grilled veggies. Love BBQ style eating. 🙂

  5. I hate when i do yoga lol and my body is in that weird mood where it looks like you never stretched in your deer life : )! What a great meal you had YUMM!!!!

    CHEERS!
    Tomorrow is my last day for my JEWELRY GIVEAWAY!

  6. Beautiful eats! Your overnight oats look delicious! I’m not the biggest fan of overnight oats, and most blogger’s versions look watery and bubbly, but yours is a fantastic creamy consistency!

    • I’m going to go check out that recipe right after this…anything involving pesto and pizza in the same meal is a keeper, in my book. 😉

  7. Favourite summer meal? Right now it would have to be sandwiches. Honestly.. I know it sounds boring but the softy doughy bite of a cool and refreshing sandwich is exactly what I want when it’s so hot out!

    Personally, your breakfast looks awesome! I am a huge fan of overnight oats, but I never just directly mix them. I think I would love the extra chew factor too.. yes please!

    ❤ Tat

  8. I cant eat anything but cereal when I wake up in the morning. I dont know why. Been that way for 20 years. Once I started taking vitamins though that has changed and I dont know why.

    Does anyone know if there is any major difference between vitamin companies? I take GNC vitamins, but my sister is trying to get me to take this other company… here is their twitter page – http://www.twitter.com/purityproducts

    I am assuming they are all the same, but I could be wrong.

Leave a Reply

