summer meets autumn

Fun thought for the day: If your body’s temperature is 98.6 degrees Fahrenheit, and you walk outside into 98 degree weather, why wouldn’t this feel like the “perfect” temperature?—courtesy of dad 😉

“Un” overnight Oats in a Jar!

In an almond butter jar.  Full of creamy, ooey-gooey, swirls and globs.  Stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth delicious. 😀 

Trader Joe’s knows how to make a mean almond butter.

I’ve noticed that along with being able to handle a slow increase in running mileage, my stomach is slowly being able to handle heavier meals before a run.  I love when this happens.  It means that I don’t cramp up after eating breakfast, which leaves me feeling more energized and fresh.  No heavy, lead-filled legs or side stitches either.  Just perfect.  It also means that I don’t have to rely on a simple orange or a date before a run, which means more fuel for those (eventual) longer runs.

Needless to say, today’s 3-miler was fun and energetic. 😀

Morning Snack: kashi crackers and Justin’s Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Lunch

I’ve been craving roasted chicken lately.

Something to do with the cooler summer weather.  Something about early autumn making its first appearance in a brilliant yellow leaf.  I’ve been craving roasted chicken.

It has something to do with something, but when all was said and done, it didn’t really matter what the temperature was.  The oven was turned on to 350, the chicken was cooked for 2.5 hrs with an onion, and voila.  My roasted chicken cravings were fulfilled.

I wanted salad too, so I decided to combine the two into one meal.  Roasting a chicken and making a summery salad might seem a little odd at first.  But it was a little like setting up a blind date for summer and autumn to meet each other (because you just know they’ll get along once they start mingling) and watching them fall in love.  The salad was crunchy and full of fresh, the chicken was tender and filled with flavor.  The cranberry sauce added the “pow” factor and tied it all together.  Love.

Leftover pasta salad on the side!

+ a heep of watermelon!

Afternoon Snack: Homemade Granola Bar

I used my original recipe, but subbed in almond butter for the pb.  I also added some cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.  Definitely one of my favorite batches yet! 😀

Did you know that the recommended amount of egg yolks to eat in one week is 3?

You’ll find a lot of controversy over that statement, as some people feel this amount should be expanded and others think it should be reduced.  I personally feel that eggs do a whole lot more good for our body then bad, but I don’t recommend loading up on them either. 😉  But don’t be afraid to include that yolk now and then, for its high content of healthy vitamins and minerals such as vitamin B12, selenium and riboflavin!

For some reason, yesterday’s egg over salad left me wanting eggs again.  I went with a “sweet” version this time in the form of cinnamon raisin French toast.  Topped with a creamy, super ripe banana. 

Can’t forget the veggies!  Roasted cauliflower and onions (425 degree oven for 25 minutes, 2 tsp olive oil + paprika) because I was still craving autumn. 😀

Time to finish up on some homework before tomorrow’s Preclinical Training.  I need to look over a case study on Muscle Wasting in Heart Failure.  It seems interesting but tricky!

Happy Hump Day! 😀

Question: Can you eat right before a workout?  Do you stick to something light or can you handle something larger?

24 thoughts on “summer meets autumn

  1. I had a heap of watermelon at lunch today, too!!

    I wish I could eat before running! Usually, I don’t eat anything, but if I’m starving when I wake up, I’ll throw back a banana and pb. But I always feel my best on an empty stomach.

  2. I often eat a huge bowl of oatmeal before my workouts 😛 I have a cast iron stomach… no amount of sloshing around can upset it!

    … I’ve also been averaging about seven egg yolks a week for quite some time now. Ooops. Yep, that’s one a day.

    ❤ Tat

  3. Your lunch reminds me of Thanksgiving meal on a bed of greens.
    I love to eat heavier right before a run, makes me enjoy the long time spent doing what I love!

  4. Your Dad’s quote is hilarious, & you’re description of summer meeting autumn is brilliant as well as funny. 🙂 All of your food has left my mouth watering! I especially loved your french toast & veggies combo. I love doing things out of the ordinary. 🙂 My fall semester started today so I’m a little anxious to go to my new classes. lol Good luck tomorrow!

    • Best of luck with your new classes, Kaci! I can completely relate to that “first day” feeling, but try to enjoy it as much as possible. 😀

      • Thanks so much!! My classes went pretty well today! I hope they continue that way all semester! =)

  5. I’m with you – I think eggs are an excellent source of protein, and that more than three yolks can be eaten a week.

    As for pre-run foods, I still have to stick to just some dried fruit and water. I hope to get to the point when I can eat a normal breakfast, and go on a run thirty to sixty minutes afterward. But for now this works, but I’m trying to figure out why I get side stitches on some days, and none on others. For me it seems to be related to humidity and heat more than anything else.

  6. I’m not really a fan of eggs myself, unless it’s in frittata form.

    If I’m running first thing in the morning, and it’s a normal run, I’ll eat a square or two of dark chocolate about 20-30 minutes before I head out the door. If it’s a long run then I will have a banana or sandwich thin with fruit preserves. Afternoon/evening runs are much harder to plan for and I still haven’t perfected it, but I try to eat a meal with a sizeable portion of carbs in it an hour or 2 beforehand.

  7. I almost never eat before my morning runs. I feel like I eat enough the night before to give me plenty of energy for 10-12 miles.

    If I am going longer, I’ll have something light, like toast with peanut butter and banana slices. I can eat this and be out the door in 5 minutes.

  8. I only recently discovered roasted red pepper hummus, and I’ve grown addicted in very short order. Whoever knew chickpeas could taste so good?

  9. I put roasted red pepper on my sandwich the other day! So good!!

    I usually have something really light before I run, usually fruit or 1/2 a yogurt. Just enough to hold me over unil I can have my oats! I eat much more if I’m going to do a long run.

  10. Everything from TJ’s is amazing, I LOVE that place 😉

    I usually eat a couple prunes, or dates before a workout. A few peanuts and raisins come into play from time to time. I find that I prefer to eat something very small and light before a workout and then have normal meal afterwards. Something about eating after a workout is comforting 🙂

  11. Roast chien plus salad is not odd at all in my house, quite regularly do we buy a hot cooked chicken and pair it with salads. We also cook up potatoes from our back garden, leave them go cold and them have them with butter or mayonaise and chives on the side of the salad. ;D

  12. You’re making me want some roasted chicken with that picture!

    If I’m only running a short distance I usually just grab some coffee, but I tend to do at least 5 miles on my runs these days so I grab 1/2 a bagel topped w/ sunflower seed butter, jelly and some gojis. I try not to eat enough to fuel my workout but not leave me feeling full and unable to run. Coffee always helps though. Always 🙂

  13. I actually can’t eat before a run, but it could be because I’m just starting up again. If I am hungry or in need of energy, I’ll usually eat a banana. I find them to be great pre-workout snacks. 🙂

  14. I need some food in my belly before a workout, but I usually eat and then wait 20 minutes before doing any exercise.

    I am craving fall too — I love your roasted chicken and those veggies look delicious. I saw a few pumpkins at the Farmers Market last weekend and I got so excited!

  15. haha that’s true- why does 98.6 feel so hot?!

    I can’t run on a full (or even half-full) stomach. I get cramps verryyy easily…but I’ve found that it’s mostly due to fluid. So I have to focus hydrating throughout the day because I can only handle a few sips right before a run!

  16. I usually stick to something light, my body doesn’t handle food like it used to. I literally would eat a whole box of mac & cheese 2 hours before every volleyball game (when I was in H.S.)… how I ate that much and it all set fine in my stomach, I have no idea!

  17. Okay, first off – I LOVE your dad’s words of wisdom for the day…made me wonder, too 😛
    Your roasted chicken + cranberry salad looks SO good!! I love cranberries – can’t wait till they are readily available again 🙂

Leave a Reply

