hanging in the caf’

Good Monday Morning!

I ate breakfast with the sun this morning. 

I was showered, dressed and ready by 6:30, which gave me exactly 30 minutes to eat a bowl of “un”overnight oats while sipping on a warm mug of coffee.  It was lovely.  😀

Today was my official first day of Food Service, which is also my first rotation for the dietetic internship.  I was excited, anxious, nervous.  But the employees are all so great and very friendly—they put up with my endless questions. 😉  I spent the day at the elementary school, learning the lay of the land in that particular kitchen.  Everything became a little busy by lunch time, and so I helped out with dishes, serving pizza & salads to the kids, and transitioning foods from kitchen to warmer to oven, etc.

There is sooo much to cover in this particular rotation, that I’m thinking I may have to meet with my preceptor and see if we can figure out a way to break everything down.  There are only 10 weeks of this rotation, 3 days a week, with 36 particular items that need to get done.  Thats a lot!

Anyways, the kids were absolutely adorable.  A couple little boys tried to trick me into giving them two lunches instead of just the one that the National School Lunch Program allows. 😉  And one little girl took a good 5 minutes trying to make up her mind, if she wanted pizza or the burger.  At first she didn’t want the accompanying salad, but I convinced her to try it out because it “goes really, really well with that pizza that you’re eating.” 

They were so cute! :mrgreen:

I didn’t eat lunch until I rolled in the driveway around 2 o’clock, but I had brought along some snacks so lunch was all ready for my grumbling stomach.

These almond and peanut butter jars are coming in handy!

  • almonds
  • a pink lady apple, an orange and a sprinkle of lemon juice to prevent browning!
  • carrot and green bell pepper sticks

I also packed along some basil hummus (from the other day), garden fresh cherry tomatoes, some crackers for dunkage, and a cheesestick—just because. 😉

I was still hungry, half hour after eating.  My afternoon snack became more of a dessert, and—at last—I was comfortably full.

  • yogurt
  • flax
  • granola
  • peanut butter

This whole not eating until way past the lunch hour thing is not good for a person.  It just isn’t.  Two hours after eating, I was again ravenous to the point where I could have inhaled anything you placed in front of me. 

Enter in the chopsticks.

They were needed—absolutely, 100%, needed—in order to slow. me. down.  Especially since dinner was so yummy. 

Sausage and Broccoli Penne

I ate it alongside a heapin’ bowl of fresh tomatoes, summer squash, celery, cucumbers and beet greens!

Dressed in olive oil and sea salt.

I finished the night off with a 4-mile walk and 30 minutes worth of refreshing yoga.  I love the way yoga leaves me feeling so energized. 😀

My Type A personality wants me to get organized, so I’m off to rearrange my folder and figure out what I need to talk to my preceptor about tomorrow.  So much to do, so little time!

Have a great night!

Question: What is your favorite way to unwind after a busy day?

18 thoughts on “hanging in the caf’

  1. I like to unwind by exercising… I know that sounds a little counter-productive but when I’ve been running around all day I usually feel so flustered and all over the place. Doing something – a walk, a run, or even a tough workout helps me to melt into total relaxation when it’s all over 🙂

    … That dinner looks amazing. I haven’t had pasta in so long, for no real reason. Everytime I think about it, I think ‘meh’.. but show me that picture at dinner time tomorrow and I think I would be singing a different tune! Haha.

    Congrats on such a successful day with the kids! Sounds like fun 🙂
    ❤ Tat

  2. Sounds like a great first day, and I like you coaxed the girl into choosing a salad to go along with pizza. They do get well together.

    It all depends on my schedule. When my life is hectic and I’ve been working all day, I love to exercise to unwind – some yoga, a walk, a run, a snowshoe. It helps my mind be more at ease when I can work out some of my stressors.

  3. hehe…i’ll have to remember the line about salad going realllly well with pizza 😉 i’d be all out of sorts eating at 2, as well. but the internship really does sound interesting and like a lot of fun once you get the hang of things!
    i love rewinding by sitting outside or playing with/grooming/grazing the horses 🙂 or cooking!!

  4. It sounds like you had a fun day! Great job on persuading the little munchkin to eat the salad. 😉

    That really does suck having to eat lunch so late. 😦 It’s too bad we can’t just stop time and break for food whenever our bellies get rumbly. hehe

    I’ve never thought about using chopsticks to slow down eating! I’ll have to try that soon. 🙂

    My absolute favorite thing to do to wind down is go on a long neighborhood walk with my twin sis. We talk all of the good, the bad, and the ugly of the day/week which leaves us feeling refreshed and less stressed. 🙂

    Have a great night girl!

  5. I love saving my old jars to use for packed lunches, too. I think it’s so pretty!

    I love COOKING to undwind. After that, I’m pretty much zonked and it’s either “lay on the couch time” or “bedtime” 🙂

  6. yes jars are so useful! i love using them for storage because you can actually see what’s in them!

    as for the lunch thing, i totally agree. i get completely ravenous if i eat lunch too late. but what a great idea – using chopsticks. at home for dinner we use chopsticks every night (i’m asian) but in chinese tradition when you eat you pick up your bowls and you can scoop the food into your mouth using your chopsticks… which doesn’t help the whole eating slowly thing, haha. i have to constantly remind myself to slow down when i am ravenous! but i love that you are aware of that and choose to use something to help slow yourself!

  7. We have the same purple-lid tupperware! ice pack, bottom area for a sandwich, top for 2 sides? Aww… and you’re genius for re-using your nut butter jars. I’m so on that one from now on! Beet greens as the main green in a salad? Yay!

  8. I like to unwind by reading a book — I can get into someone else’s life and somehow that relaxes me. Sometimes some mindless tv helps me relax too.

    I need to get some chopsticks. I have always just wolfed down my meals and I don’t really enjoy them.

  9. A walk after dinner really helps me unwind. Or reading 🙂

    The Succotash Chowder from the New Moosewood Cookbook is amazing! I love it!

Leave a Reply

