focused

Perfect.  There’s really no other way to explain my morning.

I had time for a morning bowl of hot oats (such a luxury these days!)

I had time for a morning 3-mile run.  Which, by the way was probably my favorite run of the past couple months.  I headed out into some hardcore rain, with the sound of distant thunder cracks in the background.  I didn’t surrender. :mrgreen: On the way home, however, the sun peaked out through the clouds, and the sky turned into this gorgeous array of colors.  Orange intermingled with blues and white puffy clouds off to the side.  It was gorgeous.  Stunning! 

Somehow I managed to sneak hot oats and a morning run into my routine, while still waking up at the same time.  I really don’t know if I could do this again if I tried. :mrgreen:

Lunch was quick ‘n’ easy to pack today!

On Monday, I baked an extra sweet potato and threw it in the fridge to be used as a lunch for sometime this week.  Last night, I wanted something easy to throw together, so I slathered on some peanut butter between the potato.  Voila!  Lunch was on! 

Along for the ride: kashi crackers and cheese, pineapple and watermelon fruit cup, and diced red & green bell peppers for some extra veggies and crunch.

Afternoon Snack: plain yogurt with Kashi Cinnamon Harvest and raisins with a drizzle of maple syrup

My focused morning kept me going today.  For real.

Little things that normally would have really got to me, just didn’t phase me in the slightest.  Not even a coffee stain on my shirt or a wet car seat (due to leaving the windows open last night…haha) could bog my good mood.  I felt completely energized and ready.

These morning runs during my “work week” really need to happen more often. 😉

I kept dinner simple, since I was dining solo.  A nice big garden salad with fresh cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, bell peppers, black olives, kidney beans, and olive oil & sea salt.  Twas delicious as ever. 😀

+ an orange spiced bran muffin on the side (LOVE these!)  They’re soft, moist, and filled with a rich citrus zing.  Super easy to bake too.

I am so ready to unwind and relax.  I spent most of my day sitting in front of my computer screen, working hard at finishing the Job Tasks Lists that my Food Service Preceptor would like to have done.  Phew.  It’s time consuming!  But the end is in sight. 😀

Happy HUMPDAY!

Question: Favorite type of muffin?

12 thoughts on “focused

  1. I have two muffins that are tied for first: raisin-bran, and lemon-cranberry 🙂 I might just have to give yours a try!

    Can I just say that I always leave my windows rolled down when it rains? I can’t even tell you have many times I’ve jumped in onto a wet seat!

    … and I JUST had a sweet potato and tahini with dinner. So simple, yet so perfect 🙂
    ❤ Tat

  2. your morning sounds so perfect! I agree – it seems like a good morning leads to a good day…there’s nothing that can ruin it if it starts off right. (okay, maybe there is…but you know what I mean 😛 )
    All of your meals look delicious, too. Especially that bran muffin! Which is, by the way – easily my favorite kind of muffin.

  3. I actually made bran muffins today! 😉 I had bran with raisins and a small piece of dark chocolate placed on the top of each muffin. I think my favorite would probably be blueberry. Nothing beats the basics. I love your veggie and fruit cups in jars, do you ever feel like you have to be extra careful to not break them in transit?

    • That’s such a great question. Yes, I was a little worried at first. A smashed snack jar would be the *worst*, you know? But I tend to pack lunches that require a cooler, and I have a little, collapsable red cooler that keeps things from jostling too much. It works out really well. 😀

  4. I love raisin bran muffins, like Tat, heated with butter, but for a sweeter one, i like blueberry. Your day sounds so relaxing, despite having to work, a great achievement, i would love that right now. XXX

Leave a Reply

