I need…

I like to think I’m a low maintenance kind of gal.  You know, someone who appreciates the simple things of life, without too many wants.  Too many needs.

But I still do need a few things.

For example, I need nature.  A peaceful getaway, complete with a lake, lots of woods for trekking, and plenty of spots for sitting.  Thinking.  Breathing.  Living. 

I need family.  I’m blessed enough to have two of the most amazing parents who enjoy many of the same things that I do.  Dad is a regular runner.  An avid hiker.  He loves reading and being out in nature as much as I do.

My mom is my go-to walkin’ partna’. 😉  She’s also my shopping partner and I go to her with all my recent vents, questions, concerns, excitement, and/or cooking questions.

Yes.  I need my family.

(Dad just bought a new pair of Nikon binoculars, and they were put to good use on today’s nature walk 😀 )

I need a good morning yoga session.  Inhale.  Exhale.  Stretch.  The basic routines that keep me feeling flexible.  Strong.  Relaxed.

I need a few good, close friends.  Not a lot.  Not too many.  Just a few. 

I need this.

I need a creative outlet.  Blogging.  Photography.  Writing.  Piano.  Cooking.  I don’t need to be an expert at these things. I simply need to love them. 

I need to hear the water hit the pebbles gently.  Softly.  I need to close my eyes and savor the delicious sounds of nature..  The intoxicating smells and sights.

I need to be with people who constantly encourage me.  People who constantly lift me up and say “yes you can.”  There’s enough negativity in this world to hang around with people who don’t believe in you.  Believe in yourself and don’t let anyone tell you differently.

I need to experience all four seasons.  Katie asked her readers today, if you could live anywhere, where would you live and why.  My first thought?  California.  Or France.  And then I realized that I love New England for more reasons then one.  But the greatest of reasons is the four brilliant seasons.  What would a warm summer day be without a preceding chilly winter?  And how could I ever enjoy fall the same way, without the beautiful foliage. 

Nature’s Fruit Loops. 😀

I need to constantly remind myself to stop.  Slow down.  Enjoy the day.  It’s way too easy to rush through life.  It’s the journey, not the destination.

I need to exercise.  Get the heart pumping.  Wave at the regular walkers, the regular runners.  Scratch a few dogs behind the ears.  Leap across a field just for the pure joy of it.  Do a few pushups just because I can. 

I need to feel the wind on my face on a cold fall day, bunching my thick warm hoodie closer to my face.  Warmth.

I need to feel loved.  Wanted.  Needed.  Even if that means feeding a stray cat or giving a little boy some extra change because he doesn’t have enough money to buy a bunch of flowers for his mom.  I need those kinds of things.

 I need healthy foods.  They make me feel energetic, focused, and good about myself.  From greens to grains to garbanzos. 

I also need to never feel deprived.  😉

I need my sleep.

I need to always listen to my heart and some good common sense. 

And most of all, I need to just relax.  Life isn’t meant to be taken too seriously.  Seriously!! 😀

Question: What do you need in your every day life?

16 thoughts on “I need…

  1. this post spoke to me. It was a great reminder to slow down and enjoy life to it’s fullest. I love your blog, but have never commented until now. Thanks so much for this beautiful post : )

  2. I think.. we need to be friends 😛
    I definitely need all of the same things that you do – family, nature, healthy food and a creative outlet especially.
    My parents are my best friends and I love how close of a relationship we have, its just a shame my little sister is yet to realise that you can be friends with your “uncool” parents and have fun.

    I think that surrounding yourself with encouraging people is possibly the best thing anyone can do. I’m in the process of starting my own business and I know without my little team of cheerleaders behind me, I couldn’t do it. Sometimes you just really need someone to let you know that can do it.

    Your pictures are stunning, I love the picture of the fall leaves – it’s making me miss fall! But luckily spring flowers are gorgeous too 🙂

  3. This was stunning. So elegant. I definitely needed this right now. I’m quite stressed with 4 upcoming exams and just all that comes with senior year. I do need to slow down and enjoy life. I find that most college students (at least me) always think “well I have to do this because tomorrow…” instead of thinking “wow today is awesome so I’m going to take it all in”. I am definitely going to take time to just relax over a hot bowl of creamy oatmeal in the morning and maybe take a quick walk to the farmer’s market with my twin before hitting the books. 😉
    P.S. Your line about friends is so true. Since starting college, my friend circle has definitely dwindled down due to everyone spreading out and whatnot. I sometimes wonder if it’s ok to just have a few close friends instead of a huge group of girls to always be with, and I’ve decided yes it is. All I really need in life is my twin sis because she’s the bestest friend I could ever dream of. 🙂

  4. You spoke straight from my heart and mind! Everything you said applies to me…literally everything! My parents are my best friends, I love the outdoors and all 4 seasons, exercise (& yoga) is my balance in life, and a few friends make life just a little more precious. Taking time to absorb each day and relax is so very important to me. I always have to remind myself to take a deep breath, relax, and not stress. This day only comes once, so it is important to enjoy it.

    Saying that, I “need” time everyday to relax and enjoy the blessing in my life. Time to truly live!!

  5. I need human contact, a cup of tea, a hug, a smile from someone, a conversation and a walk everyday. I need, love and enjoy those things and I dont think they will ever get old.
    x

  6. I need…
    positivity, and quiet time. I need my mom more often than not, and I need to eat right to keep me feeling well. I need to omove around, even if that only means a long walk, every day… and I need a cup of coffee in the morning 🙂

    This was such an incredible post! Not only are the photos amazing, but so are you 🙂 I consider myself to be low-maintainance as well, but I am in fact pretty high maintainance because of all the simplicities that I ‘need’ most days 😛

    ❤ Tat

  7. I need healthy, delicious food I love. Friends, and laughing. Music. Sunshine. And a little exercise. And I need to talk to my mom, even if it’s just small talk (not every day but at least once a week or more often usually).

  8. Love this post! I feel like I wrote it. 😀 I definitely need to get my dose of the outdoors too. I wish I lived in an area as pretty as yours!

    I also need my friends & family, my morning runs through the park, good books, healthy eats, and to be able to constantly be learning.

  9. This post was written so perfectly – you have so many things to savor.

    I need fresh air, family and good friends to communicate with, a sense of community, good food, and to get out and run or walk most days.

  10. what a great post. where in New England to you live? Your pictures instantly soothed me and were so calming! Let’s see – I need a nice, slow morning to really feel ready for the day!

Leave a Reply

