in a nutshell

You know what I love about Saturdays?

Actually, I probably don’t even have to tell you.  You probably love it for all the same reasons.

Nothing to do.

Nowhere to go.

No uniforms or dress codes. 

I love having a day where I can just do whatever I want.  This morning I slept in, blogged a little, went for a run.  It was wonderful. 😀

Nicole and I also had plans.  But before we headed out, she was nice enough to feed me. :mrgreen:  I love breakfast for lunch (or dinner!) and this totally hit the spot.  Two fried eggs, two wheat toasts with a spread of promise butter and a banana.

The cats ate too.

Note how messy they are.  They take after their aunt (aka, me.)

Stitch is still infatuated with his brick.

Until he got embarrassed because everybody was watching him and laughing.  Then he wanted to come in and see what was so funny.

The rest of the day entailed the basic necessities that make Saturdays so grand.

You know, things like Starbucks and toffee mocha soy mistos.  Or hitting up TJMaxx and finding adorable new winter shirts for cheap, cheap, C-H-E-A-P.  I love bargain shopping. 😀

The night ended on a sweet, sweet note.

A 4-mile walk.

A campfire to warm up by, freedom from the 55 degree weather.

And Nicole brought homemade cream puffs.

She is the queen of cream puffs.  I can not make them, even if my life depended on it.  I try to console myself with the idea that it’s “just the recipe I use”, but I’m not really believing myself.  I just think she has the knack for making them so perfect, light, fluffy.

And, as I was saying earlier, my fur-baby nephews take after me.  I’m a messy eater.

I took three or four bites into a cream puff before accidentally flipping the plate up in the air, causing the cream puff to land on the floor with the vanilla pudding somehow ending up on my face.  It took a good minute or so for me to register what happened and then I ended up in a fit of laughter, which is when Nicole rushed inside for her camera, instructing me not to move. 

Please tell me I’m not the only messy eater out there.  Thank you. :mrgreen:

That was my Saturday in a nut shell.  Busy with fun things.  No to-do’s.  Just the way I like ’em.

Question: What is your favorite way to spend your weekend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

15 thoughts on “in a nutshell

  1. LOL the cream puff story made me laugh – reminds me of the blender explosion I experienced a couple of weeks ago. I wish I could take as many walks as you do – there’s no nice place I could walk by myself and not have to worry about getting abducted or something freaky like that :-/ Glad you had a pleasant Saturday – nothing better than TJMAXX or Starbucks!

  2. You are definitely not the only messy eater! I definitely am.

    I love spending weekends by the lake at the park reading. And taking my dog for walks. Cooking. And shopping 🙂

  3. I love getting a hot drink at Starbucks and heading to the mall — usually I end up window shopping which is a fun day too!

    I love to be lazy on the weekends, if I get nothing productive done, thats ok. I just think of it as a mental break and I need to relax!

  4. Haha that story about the cream puff is too funny! 😀

    I like a good balance of down time and fun. I like to go out one day and night of the weekend, and have the rest of the time to do things like going for a run, coffee dates with friends, visiting the farmers market, reading, and cooking.

  5. You are definitely not the only messy eater out there! A little trail of crumbs typically surround my placemat when we clean the table off after dinner each night 🙂

    PS–Breakfast for dinner is the best! I love pancakes for dinner after a long day at work.

    Glad you enjoyed your Saturday!

  6. I agree, breakfast for lunch or dinner is so good! And I haven’t had a cream puff in ages – delicious!

    I love to get all my errands, chores, cleaning done on Saturday so that I have Sunday to relax and recharge. 🙂

  7. Any explosion involving pastry cream can’t be all that bad – edible messes make me forgo the five second rule. Very lady-like, scraping food off the floor and onto a plate (or into my mouth).
    Saturdays tend to be work-on-the-house days at my place, so for the near future, I’ll be perched on a roof, hammering away!

  8. I would LIKE to spend my saturday, chilling, meeting a friend for lunch, going out on Sat night for drinks and dance and then spending Sunday reading the papers, doing nothing, being hungover-the typical student I am. But my weekends usually consist of work and catching up on things I dont do during the week. booooo
    SOunds like u had a nice weekend tho, ;D

  9. My favourite way to spend my weekend is with my parents, at my cottage, walking the beach with all the pups 🙂 I actually got to do it this weekend when my step-dad surprisingly took all three days off work!

    Glad you enjoyed yours… I’ve never seen home-made cream puffs before, that’s pretty neat!
    ❤ Tat

  10. Sounds like a great time. I love that Nicole can make homemade cream puffs – they’re one of my all time favorite desserts, but I’ve only tried bakery made ones.

    I love long walks on the weekends too, and going on drives to explore new places.

  11. Weekends are the greatest. I love leisurely mornings and just relaxing with breakfast and some fun stuff to read.

    BARGAIN SHOPPING! Is the best. I’m all about the sales and deals, it gives me happy shopping high scoring awesome deals on things, especially clothes.

    Those cream puffs look so soft and delicious! I have a feeling any of my cream puff attempts would be failures too. And I’m a chronic food dropper so I can definitely see myself in a cream puff drop situation just like yours 🙂

  12. love those cats! and weekends are the best. seriously, i am one of those people who work for the weekend! those creampuffs look delectable. and i adore that photo with the coffee. cute!

Leave a Reply

