breakfast in a hurry

Sometimes I like to spend hours in the kitchen. 

Throwing together homemade samosas and carrot soup, all on a whim.  Just because I can.

And then there are times when I need short-cuts.

Let’s take steel cut oats as an example.

Steel cut oats take a good 30-40 minutes of your attention.  This is fine for lazy weekends, but not so much for a busy week day.  What’s a busy girl to do?

Well, duh.  There are rolled oats for people like us.

But, really, sometimes you want steel cut oats.  They impart a deliciously nutty bite, and may even keep you full longer since the digestion time is increased.  I like to think of it in this way: steel cut oats > rolled oats > instant oats.  In regards to the fullness factor, anyways.

I’ve discovered that there is indeed a short cut to having steel cut oats during the week.  And that is simply to prepare one heeping batch at the beginning of the week and pop it in the fridge.

Four servings worth of steel cut oats.  Just cut it, pop it in a microwave safe bowl, throw in your favorite fillings and heat to desired temperature.  In 3-4 minutes, you’ll have steel cut oats for a busy, week day breakfast!!

This morning I had to drive in early for a Food Service Director’s meeting, which meant that breakfast needed to be extra, extra quick to throw together.  Cha, cha, chilly oats became my breakfast of choice.

  • 1 serving of steel cut oats (about 1/4 c. uncooked)
  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 2 T. craisins
  • toppings: granola and almond butter

Served with hot tea for a lil’ warmth on a chilly morning. 😀

Another busy day tomorrow.  But hopefully by the end I will be ServSafe certified! :mrgreen:

Question: Do you have any “secret” shortcuts for meals/snacks/breakfasts that would normally take a long time to make?

9 thoughts on “breakfast in a hurry

  1. Overnight oats have been my lifesaver lately! Honestly, I have time to make stovetop oats now…but I’ve been having a hard time making the switch 😛
    When I used to have steel cuts all the time, the night before I would always bring them to a boil in water, remove from the heat, cover, and let sit all night. The next morning you just reheat them on the burner with a little more water and voila! Though not quite as quick as your method, I don’t think. Love it!
    Good luck tomorrow/getting certified this week!!

  2. Yum! That’s like, overnight oats prepared with cold cooked oats… Genius! Seriously, looks so delicious. I will keep this in mind for when I am on the run 🙂

    Don’t work too hard, mkay?
    🙂

  3. I’ve never made steel cut oats before, although I’ve heard the taste/texture is so much better/different than rolled oats. I like the idea of having your breakfast already made in the morning and just having to heat it up!

  4. I used to put steel cut oats on to boil, then do a quick workout, shower, and THEN eat breakfast. Hah, that’s not really a shortcut – but it’s how I did it. I like you’re idea way better

Leave a Reply

