10 things I loved about my 23rd birthday

1. Sleeping in…

 

 2…and creating one of my favorite morning meals.

That would be “un”overnight oats (1/2 c. uncooked oats with 6-oz. plain yogurt) mixed with strawberries and stuffed in a cantaloupe with walnuts and honey on top.

3. Laughing and being silly with my bestie.

4. Going for a nature walk in my backyard with Dad.

5. Receiving Julia Child’s cookbook, which I have always considered to be the quintessential cookbook.  I can’t wait to test it out! 😀

6. Playing “pin the tail on the donkey.”  And no, you’re never too old to play this game. 😉

7. Watching dad turn a regular ol’ chicken into the most wonderful thing I have ever tasted, with nothing but the grill, a few spices and a half empty beer can.  The smell was intoxicating, and the flavor was out of this world. 

Plus lots and lots of roasted veggies and garlic infused red potatoes.

8. Spending my afternoon with my apron on, the counry music blaring, and a pot of butternut squash soup simmering on the stove. 

Recipe to come!

9. Spending the day with family, friends, family. 😀

 10.  The grand. sweet. finale:  Icebox Lemon Pie with Homemade Cream.

Yet another recipe to come!  This baby *screamed* of lemon.

On that note, it is time to relax with a cup of warm, raspberry tea and a good movie.  I’ll be back tomorrow with a heaping host of recipes.  Be prepared. 😉

Question: What was your favorite thing about today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

23 thoughts on “10 things I loved about my 23rd birthday

  1. Happy Birthday!! What a perfect day – family, laughs and good food. The besssst.

    My favorite thing about today was some good frozen yogurt with mango and raspberries. Yummo.

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! It sounds like you’ve had a fabulous one!

    My favorite things about today: going to the farmer’s market with my twin (we got 5 homemade cookies there-double chocolate, lemon drop, oatmeal, spicy ginger, and fancy chocolate chip! Mmmmm), taking a mid-afternoon nap with the sun gleaming through the big windows, and going on a long neighborhood walk. 🙂

    Hope the rest of your birthday weekend goes well!

  3. I just thought I’d say, Happy Birthday and “I LOVE ALL OF YOUR BEAUTIFUL PHOTOS!” 😀 Such great shots. Keep up the good blogging and photo snappin’! 🙂

  4. Oh wow, what a nice birthday, sounds like the kind of bday i would love. Your family look so cool and its awesome that u seem so close with them! meals as always look fab, specially the brekkie! i watched three hours of mindless entertainment lsat night, with milky tea, my mom and my cat-was bliss after a long day at work!
    xx

  5. Whee! Happy birthday Sarah! I’m turning 23 soon too! We’re both October girls! 🙂

    I’m glad your birthday turned out wonderful…but how can it not, with a wonderful birthday girl and her wonderful people!

  6. The photos in this post are just beautiful 🙂 I love the ones with the coloured leaves – that’s my favourite part of Fall!

    My favourite part of yesterday was the fact that I spent the day with my mama… I love Saturdays!
    <# Tat

  7. Glad you had just a great birthday! You’ll have to post about the Julia Child cookbook as you test it out. I always love buying new cookbooks 🙂

    I love blaring music as I’m baking and cooking. Did you see Lady Antebellum is coming out with a Christmas CD?? 😀

  8. Happy birthday Sarah!
    Seems like you had a great day! and once again gorgeous photographs!! 🙂
    My favourite thing about today was going to the farmers market and taking in all of these amazing colours and smells of fall.

  9. I am actually doing a report on Julia Child for my gastronomy class, so I have gotten quite familiar with Mastering the Art of French Cooking–can’t wait to see what you make from it!

Leave a Reply

