how convenient

Sometimes I exhibit split personalities.  Especially in the kitchen.

For example, sometimes I really love cooking over a hot stove for several hours.  Wearing my apron as if it’s an accessory item.  Waving my spoon around while chanting “Bon Appetit” in my best Julia Childs imitation. 

And then there’s the other side of me that wants convenience.  This mostly takes place on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays, when I’m doing my internship in the school system.  I don’t want to spend longer than 15 minutes preparing breakfast, lunch or dinner.  Quick!  Snap, Snap.  No time to be wasted. 

Breakfast: 1 serving of creamy banana oatmeal + 1 almost but not quite empty peanut jar + 15 minutes of preparation = perfect.

Lunch could not have been easier in the convenience department either.

As soon as I finished making the lentil tacos last night, I popped some directly into the freezer and dished the rest into a tupperware container for today.  Eazy Peazy.

When served along with a whole wheat wrap, an apple, and some carrot sticks, this meal was complete. 

Convenience.  Nutrition.  Taste.  It’s nice when they decide to get along.

Afternoon Snack: 6-oz. plain yogurt mixed with 1/2 c. pureed pumpkin + Natures Path Pumpkin Flax Granola

I’ll bet when you think “fish,” convenience doesn’t always come to mind.  And I’ll bet that some of you won’t believe me when I tell you that my dinner was served in under 15 minutes.

But it’s true.  From grill to salad, salmon makes a quick and easy dinner for a busy weeknight meal.  Sometimes I’ll go all crazy with the marinades, but honestly, I like to keep things as simple as possible with the wild caught salmon.  The flavor is so sweet and fresh; salt and pepper is all it really needs.

I threw some black beans, tomatoes, and good olive oil on top, along with some kashis on the side for crunch.

Moral of the story: convenience isn’t always such a bad thing for your tastebuds or for your health. 😉

Question: What are some lunch items that you’ve found to be most convenient, still nutritious, and TASTY? 

13 thoughts on “how convenient

  1. Veggie burgers with leftover veggies from the night before. Or just a simple sandwich and soup. Or some crudités, hummus, crackers and nuts.

  2. On days I have to work, convenience is my best friend, too! 15 minutes is my limit as well 😛 For lunches at work I rely on some sort of sandwich concoction! Easy to pack, easy to eat, and I’m a bread/sandwich fiend so it works 😉

  3. Personally I think nutbutters are one of the best inventions, because they can easily be thrown onto a yogurt, on toast, crackers, oatmeal, on a spoon and u know you’re getting protein, fats and taste!

    aside from those, as a student, the old school yogurt mess is a realy quicky tasty meal to prep and eat and its easy to take on the go too! u can get so many good yogurts these days that come with granola already, so throw in some nuts and fruit and im good to go!

  4. Well, I’m still working at getting more creative with my lunches… But I do love the all-natural chicken sausages. So quick and easy, and still healthy.

  5. I actually like leftovers most of all, even now that I work from home, it is just easiest to heat something up that doesn’t require much thought. I also like “tasting” kind of plates as well that have a variety of foods on them.

  6. I totally wish you could pack my meals for college, haha! Your eats are not only healthy, but they look super flavorful!

    How do you pack your lunches when you’ll be at school all day? I can’t imagine having to carry around anything that would cause bulk in your bag.

  7. I found these delicious whole wheat honey pretzel twists that are great for a mid-morning snack, and much more affordable than LARA bars! I also like boxes of raisins and good ole turkey sandwiches!

  8. I love eating leftovers for lunch the next day. At the beginning of each week, I usually boil a bunch of eggs to have on hand for quick protein.

Leave a Reply

