jewelry and dates

Last night, I went to a Lia Sophia Jewelry Party.

Honestly, I’ve never been much one for jewelry.  I’ll throw a necklace on here or there to glam up a plain jain t-shirt.  My Pandora bracelet is special, thanks to all the memories that are tied in with it.  I’ve never had my ears pierced.

But I love trying jewelry on.  Even more than that, I love trying jewelery on other people.  Colors that pop.  Circles that claim confidence and personality.  Jewelry says a lot.

Twas a fun night.  I saw friends I haven’t seen in ages, and really, nothing gets women chattering more than a jewelry party.  Except maybe, for a tupperware party, which I don’t personally think I could ever have enough of (this does not give any future boyfriends the excuse to buy me a load of tupperware, although in all honesty, I don’t think I’d complain. 😉 )

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I consider us friends.  And friends should know their friends’ deepest secrets.  Deepest thoughts, dreams, ambitions.  Deepest loves.

Have I ever shared my deep love affair for the Date Square?

This recipe was handed down from generation to generation.  My Memere would always bring these to baby or bridal showers, and she would always return home with an empty plate.  They stand their own against the rich chocolate cakes.  The lemon meringue pies.  They can even stand strong against a rustic homemade apple pie.

Even people who claim to not like dates, love these squares.  You can only imagine how the people who love dates must feel.  Yeah, I know.

Date Squares

This is one of those “special occasion” desserts, as they are not light or healthy, but they sure do make a beautiful entrance at family gatherings and special holidays.

Feel free to add cranberries to the dates, thereby turning these into a cranberry date square.  And make a glaze if you want a sweeter than life kind of dessert (which I highly recommend!)  A basic confectionary styled glaze goes wonderfully.  You can easily get creative by simply adding lemon or orange peel to the glaze for some extra zing if you like.  Just have fun with it!  This recipe is pretty fool proof. 😀

  • 1-3/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1 c. flour
  • 3/4 c. crisco
  • 1-1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt

Mix above ingredients together and place on bottom of a square pan.  Save a little of the oatmeal mixture to place on top.

  • 1-1/2 c. dates
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar

Add a little cold water and boil on stove so that dates melt.  Put on top of crust.  Sprinkle the remaining oatmeal mixture on top.

Bake at 350-375 for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool completely and ENJOY! 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(p.s. Highstreet wanted to come home with mom and I after the jewelry party, but he was snatched away just in time.  Maybe next time. 😉 )

Question: What is one dessert that you would feel confident in bringing to any family gathering or social event?  Aside from these date squares, I have a recipe for espresso brownies that is a guarenteed people pleaser. 😀

14 thoughts on “jewelry and dates

  1. I’ve never attempted date squares on my own before.. but they actually don’t look too difficult! Perhaps I’ll give them a shot for the holidays this year!
    A crowd pleaser from my recipe book is peanut butter cookies, but if I am concerned about a nut allergy I usually go with five-minute fudge. Who doesn’t like fudge? 🙂

  2. What a fun event!

    I’m not a huge fan of date squares, but these look very tempting! It’s all about those tried and true family recipes.

    One thing I always find myself baking for events are lemon-shortbread squares! Very tasty, but also quite messay and difficult to transport.

  3. I love date squares!! Never thought of putting cranberries in, sounds yum! I would be confident bringing carrot cake squares or a fruit pavlova to a party/ guaranteed people pleasers! Xx

  4. I love jewelry! In fact, I have 8 piercings. 🙂 I’d say if I had to choose a kind of simple dessert to make, it would have to be a dark chocolate cake with a whipped peanut butter frosting. Can’t go wrong with that flavor combo. 😉

  5. My gluten free cheesecake (others swear it’s the best thing they’ve ever tasted, but I HATE cheesecake), my favorite cornbread recipe, one of my brownie recipes and the family’s SECRET rocky road recipe.

Leave a Reply

