staying motivated

It’s important to roll with the changes when it comes to motivation.

Last week, I ran because that’s what kept me sane for the moment.  I blew off steam.  Fed my frustration.  Came home feeling like a brand new woman.

This week, I didn’t feel frustrated.  I didn’t need to blow off steam.  I didn’t feel motivated.

Once I realized why I didn’t feel much like running, I just decided not to.  In the same way that I’ll never force myself to eat a healthy food just because it’s good for me, I’ll never force myself to exercise.  Just because.

However, that being said, I also know that exercising makes me feel eons better.  So I walked.  Because it felt good and kept me energized for a busy week.  I mixed yoga in with my regular strength routine.  I mixed things up, focusing on the things that helped me relax, because that’s exactly what I needed.

Motivation.

I also ate out a lot this week, which is totally unusual for me.  Between the german chocolate cake, the date squares, the meatballs, the tenderloin tips, and the broccoli casserole, you could say that I’m feeling a little less than normal. 

Motivation to eat better?

Because I’ll feel better.  Energized.  Normal.  Healthy.  Strong.  Ready for anything. 

(p.s. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy ever. single. bite of all the delicious food that I was served, but it sure does feel good to be back to normal today!)

A big hunka salad, a steaming bowl of homemade beans and a warm slice of cornbread left me satisfied.

Motivated.

Motivation is always evolving.  Always changing, in all different areas of our life.  What keeps us motivated to exercise doesn’t necessarily keep us motivated to eat right.

Find what works and stick with it.  Don’t be afraid to experiment.  To fall now and then.  Getting back up, and trying something new.  Never beating yourself up but moving on.

One.  Step.  At.  A.  Time. 

Homemade Baked Beans

I’ve talked about these baked beans before, but it’s just one of those recipes that you need to talk about more than once. 

As much as my Pepere and I have in common when it comes to food, my Memere and I shared a deep appreciation for homemade baked beans.  She would serve them with a fresh batch of fluffy pancakes, smile, and say how much she loved this meal.  Sometimes she’d make some buttery scrambled eggs for the side too.  As a little girl in awe of her Memere’s cooking, I was pretty sure that life couldn’t get much better, and I still feel that way.  This meal is proof that healthy foods and comfort foods can oftentimes be one and the same.

  • 2 c. navy beans
  • 1-2 onions, finely diced
  • 3 T. molasses
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dry mustard
  • 1/2 c. ketchup (I use trader joe’s all natural brand)
  • 1 T. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 T. packed brown sugar
  1. Soak beans overnight in cold water.  Simmer beans in same water until tender, approximately 1 to 2 hrs.  Drain and reserve liquid. (keep in mind that you don’t want the beans sooo tender that they’re falling apart on you…they should be a little firm)
  2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  3. Arrange the beans in a 2 quart bean pot or casserole dish and top with onions.
  4. In a saucepan, combine rest of ingredients.  Bring mixture to a bowl and pour over beans.  Pour in just enough of reserved bean water to cover the beans.  Stir gently with rubber spatula and cover dish with lid or aluminum foil.
  5. Bake for 3 to 4 hrs in preheated oven.  Stir at least every hour. 
  6. ENJOY!

Question: What are some of the things that keep you motivated?

13 thoughts on “staying motivated

  1. What keeps me motivated?? hmmmm……probably that endorphin high I get after a great workout. I try to remember how I’m going to feel AFTERwards when I’m having trouble getting myself out the door. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. 🙂

  2. One of my biggest motivators at the moment is the thoughts of what could happen if I dont stay motivated, im not sure if this is good or not, but like u said, roll with whatever works at the moment! f
    x

  3. Some of the things that keep me motivated are definitely how I feel. Making the right choices, whether that be taking a rest day, getting up to work out, or making sure that I eat enough makes me feel amazing on the inside.
    Those beans look lovely. I’ve bee meaning to make some, and I even went out and bought apple cider vinegar because every recipe I could find called for it. Ironically, this one doesn’t 😛

  4. I am motivated by staying focused on what I’m working towards. It reminds me WHY I’m doing what I’m doing. Your recipe for the beans look delicious! And great attitude about exercise. It was a nice reminder to listen to our bodies, and not our mind all the time.

  5. I am big on TO-DO lists because when my work is staring at me, it gets me supermotivated. I love the homemade beans. My dad is a big fan of beans, I’ll make this for him when I visit him. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Yum, baked beans! It is nice to enjoy a simple, home-cooked meal after some indulgences 🙂

    What keeps me motivated in exploration – trying new recipes, new ingredients, finding new neighbourhoods and parks on my walks and bike rides…and getting food and exercise ideas from blogs, of course!

  7. Just found your blog through Freshly Pressed. I’ve been enjoying getting caught up on your posts! I find I often get de-motivated when I put too much pressure on myself that I HAVE to do an intense workout or only eat a certain thing, so I especially enjoyed this entry. Thanks for the great thoughts and photos — look forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

