a simple cranberry sauce

After about a week of eating leftovers, I’m officially turkeyed, stuffinged, and mashed potatoed out.  Because as much as I love a good turkey soup, stuffing on my salad, or a big ol’ bowl of peppered turnips, my tastebuds are about to have a revolt.

Well, for the most part.  They (the tastebuds, that is) are making one small exception.  While the rest of the leftovers must go, the cranberry sauce can stay for as long as it wishes.

I’ll always say that stuffing is my favorite side on Thanksgiving.  But deep down, we all know that I have a deep, deep love affair with cranberry sauce. 

It all started with a can of store bought cranberry sauce, served alongside my Memere’s famous turkey dinner. 

Originally it was sort of a family joke.  “Hide the cranberry sauce.  Sarah’s here.”  Or, “Grab some while you can before Sarah gets to it.”  Cranberry sauce smeared on my turkey.  Spread on a toasted roll.  Jimmied into a plate of stuffing.  It was the highlight of my meal.

And then—then!—I discovered how easy it was to make my own cranberry sauce.  Homemade. 

My tastebuds were thrilled. 

The sauce was tangy, zingy, and sweet all at the same time.  Little bites of plump berries burst in my mouth.  I found myself wondering how I ever could have eaten so much jellied (canned!) cranberry sauce in the first place.  *Sigh.*  To think what I had been missing out on.

Yes.  Cranberry sauce can stay.  For as long as it wishes.  I’ll always find something new to to use it with.  Oatmeal.  Overnight rice combos.  Yogurt.  Toast with butter. 

Mmm.  So many delicious possibilities. 😀

Cranberry Sauce

This is as simple as simple gets.  The result is a tangy, not overly sweet sauce (add more sugar if you prefer it sweeter.) 

Don’t be afraid to dress this up with orange peel, walnuts, apples, pears, blueberries, or whatever else might come to mind.  Have fun and enjoy! 😀

  • 1 12-oz. bag of cranberries
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  1. Combine sugar and water in a medium saucepan.
  2. Bring to boil; add cranberries, return to boil.
  3. Reduce heat and boil gently for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Cover and cool completely at room temperature. Refrigerate until serving time. Makes 2 1/4 cups.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A trip to the dentist has left my mouth in a bit of a droop.

Two cavities.  One upper.  One lower.  Which is a shame, since I’m so meticulous about dental care.  Harumph.

Anyways, since the entire right side of my face was drooping and not at all in good functioning order, there wasn’t a whole lot of this going on today:

For a girl who loves to eat, this felt horribly, horribly wrong.

But—really—the worst part wasn’t simply that I couldn’t chew.  It was that I couldn’t smile.  Or talk.  At all.  So when I bumped into a woman at the mall, I didn’t quite know what to do.  And so I grunted.  Yes.  I grunted.  Which left me feeling completely rude, even though it felt like the only thing that made sense to do at the time.  It’s amazing what life is like when you just can’t talk.  Or smile.

Life without a smile.  Can you imagine? 

With me in mind, please smile as much as possible today.  And tell someone you care.  And never forget to say “excuse me” if you bump into a lady when walking through the mall.  Grunting really doesn’t work so well.

Question: Going to the dentist…love or hate?

14 thoughts on “a simple cranberry sauce

  1. My dentist is the sister of one of my best friends, so it’s always nice to see her. It’s quite difficult to chat, though, with my mouth wide open! In general I very much dislike going to the dentist… it’s just not comfortable.

  2. Ughh.. I hate the dentist! Especially since the gum reconstructive surgery I had this year in October. If your dentist ever suggests that you might need something similar, RUN. I also hate it when my mouth is frozen after any dental work. Eating, talking, smiling.. everything feels so embarrassing! I’m glad you made it through 😉

    … my favourite part of thanksgiving is actually the stuffing. I live in Canada, but I actually made myself stovetop dressing for dinner yesterday because all the fantastic Thanksgiving posts were getting to me. Craving satisfied!

  3. Oh dear! I hope your mouth is better soon. I love going to the dentist. I still go to the children’s dentist (the one I’ve gone to all my life), and I love the staff. 🙂 It saddens me that I only go once or twice a year instead of multiple times like I did in middle school for my braces. The only upside to having those darn things. 🙂

  4. Haaaaaaaaate the dentist! I randomly got about 4 cavities when I turned 24. I had no idea why since I’m good at dental hygiene. Sometimes it just happens I guess. I hate that novocaine numbness, but I am so scared of pain from the drill that I ask them to give me extra. I’d rather be numb then feel anything!

  5. So cute with that cookie frown!

    I am also a devourer of cranberry sauce – my mom makes this lovely cranberry-pear sauce at Christmas time and I will eat it straight up, or with any number of things! I like your idea of adding orange peel and walnuts – will have to try that.

    I actually kind of enjoy going to the dentist – I’ve never had a cavity (although I’ve had plenty of orthodontic work!), probably thanks to the fact that my mom is a dentist and I’ve always been a rigorous tooth brusher!

  6. I don’t mind going to the dentist since I’m meticulous about my dental care too. Though I know how you feel since I had lip surgery about a month ago and I couldn’t smile or chew or anything like that either.

  7. I love cranberry sauce!! I made my first homemade batch this year and it was amazing 🙂 I was missing out on a lot over the past 19 Thanksgivings.

    Sorry about your cavities 😦 I’ve never minded the dentist, but I’m sure I’d hate it if they told me I had cavities.

  8. Cranberry sauce is divine on pumpkin oatmeal – LOVE!!
    OMG, I went to the dentist last week for a cavity, and had to have a ROOT CANAL!!! Talk about a surprise.

  9. The same thing happened to me as to Jamie up there in the comments – I turned 24, got my normal check-up and BOOM two cavities. I’m super awesome with the dental hygiene and don’t even drink soda or take sugar in my coffee so it was a bit of a downer. But, the new adult dentist that I went to knew to ask if I was resistant to Novocaine (yes) and to wait a good 5 minutes after giving me the shots to start (as other dentists have NOT done, just injected and started pulling right away, in the case of wisdom tooth surgery ), so it ended up not being that bad.

    And that looks simply delicious 🙂 My fam’s got their own recipe but it’s far too sweet for me, so maybe I’ll give this one a try!

  10. I need sedatives before going to the dentist.

    I’ve had surgery with no anesthesia. I’ve broken bones. I had a hip fracture for 9 months without knowing it was “that bad”.

    But get me near a dentist and I have a panic attack. Yet, I have dental insurance for that time that will come when I need something drastic done and I want to be able to beg for good knock-out medicine.

    Congrats on the recent freshly pressed!!!!

Leave a Reply

