Merry Christmas

As much as I look forward to making lots and lots of desserts for Christmas (I like working with butter :mrgreen: ,) preparing breakfast for the family is one of my most favorite baking experiences of the entire year.

I love that everyone is all together in spot.  There’s excitement and busy chatter spread across the table.  Lots of bed heads.  Starbucks coffee.  Growling stomachs.

A warm, hearty breakfast.

This year, I decided to make a batch of French toast the night before, so that I could sit around the tree with the family while breakfast basically prepared itself.  Completely hands off.  

While the French toasts did their time in the oven, us “kids” opened our stockings. 

As an aside, I hope I never outgrow stocking stuffers.  😀

Twenty minutes later, I pulled the French toast from the oven and served with a warm blueberry sauce…

…and a dish of vanilla greek yogurt with homemade granola.

Everyone helped themselves to the family fare.  And then we went back for seconds. 😀

 

Overnight French Toast—as seen in Bon Appetit, with some slight modifications

This recipe calls for the use of French bread, but since I waited until the last minute, I couldn’t find any nice, crusty French breads that I liked.  I ended up choosing a cranberry walnut whole grain bread.  It was absolutely delightful and slightly unexpected.  Delicious.

I also increased the cooking time from 14 minutes to 20-25 minutes.  Because, in my opinion, French toast should always have a little crunch in each bite. 😀

Oh, and just remember.  French toast is only going to be as good as the bread which you buy, so I recommend going all out and finding that perfect loaf.  Bon appetit! 😀

  • 1-2 T butter, room temperature
  • 12 3/4-inch-thick bread slices
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar (I used light brown)
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  1. Spread butter over bottom of heavy large baking pan with 1-inch-high sides. Arrange bread slices in pan. Beat eggs, milk, sugar, syrup, vanilla and salt to blend in large bowl. Pour mixture over bread. Turn bread slices to coat. Cover with plastic and refrigerate overnight.
  2. Preheat oven to 400°F. Bake French bread 10 minutes. Turn bread over and continue baking until just golden, about 10-15 minutes longer. Transfer cooked toast to plates. Serve immediately, passing with maple syrup or a fruit sauce.  Enjoy! 😀

For the blueberry sauce, I simply heated a 16-oz frozen bag of blueberries in a small saucepan over low heat until they were juicy and soft.  I added a couple small spoonfuls of cornstarch until it was thickened as desired.  You can also sweeten it with a little sugar if you prefer. 😀  The preparation of this sauce took about as long as the French Toast took to cook.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope your Christmas was filled to the brim with deliciousness and fun as well!!

(Nate and Nicole)

(Melissa and Nicole)

(Matthew sampling a “cherry purse”)

(Matthew and Melissa)

Dad and Pepere

(Some of) The Gang 

Merry Christmas! 😀

Question: What was the highlight of your Christmas celebrations?  Please share! 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. What a great Christmas it looked like you had! I love watching all the kids open their presents. They get so excited 🙂 I also loved that it was snowing on Christmas day. It just added to the Christmas spirit.

  2. That definitely looks like a healthier breakfast than the one we had here – nothing planned, just grazing on coffee and candy (although I’ll tell you that breaking your fast on brandy-filled chocolates is pretty amazing)!

    We’re musicians, along with most of the friends who came over for the festivities, bringing electric guitars and first sopranos. So my favorite part of any gathering is the point where literally every person in the room is either playing an instrument, doing percussion on the back of their chair, or singing along. I think at one point we had about 7-part harmony for “Bridge Over Troubled Waters” 😀

  3. Love all the food! And what is a “chocolate purse”? Because it sounds DIVINE!! 🙂

    Favorite part of Christmas? Hearing my son bound up the stairs at 7:55am (when I told him he had to wait until 8am) and jumping into bed. Love it.

  4. I received The New Moosewood Cookbook! I have you to thank for featuring it so many times, and I’m jazzed to try out the recipes.

Leave a Reply

