a very simple salmon

 Bulb by bulb, candy cane by candy cane.  The Christmas tree was deconstructed and taken down today.

I very easily become attached to things.  Mr. Jingles, my beta fish for 4 years.  Frenchie, my car. 

Carol, the Christmas tree.  I think I would keep it (her?) up all year if I had the choice. 

To avoid getting the Christmas time blues, I threw on my apron and set out to make a bright, flavorful lunch for the family.  Which, by the way, started with two very simple ingredients: Soy sauce and brown sugar.

And two pieces of wild caught salmon.

 Fast Forward 10 minutes.

Simple and perfect.  And that, my friends, is just one of the things that I love so much about salmon.  It doesn’t like to be messed around with too, too much, making things easier on the busy cook.

I still don’t like saying goodbye to things.  Dogs, fish, cars, or Christmas trees. 

I will say, however, that it’s kind of nice not crashing into Carol every time I do a downward dog or a sun salutation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sweet ‘n’ Salty Grilled Salmon
Serves about 3

Although this recipe calls for the salmon to be grilled, you could easily cook it in your oven.  I normally use a temperature around 350 to cook my fish, testing so often to make sure that I don’t overcook it.  The fish is ready when it flakes easily. 😀

To keep the sides simple and easy, I roasted a few potatoes with garlic and olive oil; the broccoli was also roasted with a bit of olive oil.

  • 1 lb. wild caught salmon fillets
  • 1/2 T. lite soy sauce
  • 1/2 T. brown sugar
  • lemon pepper
  • garlic powder
  1. Preheat grill.
  2. Sprinkle salmon fillets with lemon pepper and garlic powder.  In a separate bowl, combine brown sugar and soy sauce.  Spoon over salmon fillets.
  3. When grill is ready, place salmon skin side down and cook for 4-6 minutes.  Flip.  Continue cooking for another 4-6 minutes or until the fish flakes easily with a fork.
  4. Serve and ENJOY! 😀

Question: Have you taken down the holiday decorations yet?

14 thoughts on “a very simple salmon

  1. aw! we wait until jan 6th. i hate taking down the docr (and the effort of lugging it up to the attic!). Whe salmon fishing was legal here, my geandad and i would catch a fish, bring it home, do all the necessary “work” on it, gross! and then grill it-nothing beats fresh caught wild salmon! x

  2. Yup yup .. I LOVE how simple salmon can be! I’ve never done brown sugar and soy sauce before, but I usually do lemon juice, garlic and dill just as simply. It’s such a wonderful fish!

    We still have our tree up 🙂 .. and it probably will stay that way for a few weeks yet. It’s so pretty!

  3. We took our tree down this weekend, I didn’t do any other decorating this year so it wasn’t difficult to put it away. Normally, it feels so empty in the house when I take everything down.

    Jen

Leave a Reply

