the return of the boxed lunch

Vacation sure was nice while it lasted. 

Honestly—aside from writing an abstract on hypertension—I didn’t accomplish a whole lot during vacation, and that is just fine by me.  My brain feels well rested.  Ready to think and be used once again.

That being said, the first day back always feels a little rough.  Especially since I was starting my clinical rotation at the hospital for the first time today.  Obviously, I needed a fun lunch to feel excited about.  Something to  make getting up at 5:00am just a little bit easier. 😉

Last night, I made chef salads for the family and topped each one off with a few scoops of roasted veggies that had been drizzled and deeply caramelized with a splash of balsamic vinegar.  Sweet onions, peppers, carrots, and baby portobello mushrooms. 

I forgot how much I love this simple flavor combination.

One of the (many) things that I love about roasting vegetables, is that any extras can be incorporated into the following day’s lunches and dinners.  Breakfast, even! 

And so, roasted vegetables became my very special lunch for today.  I reheated the veggies in the cafe’s microwave, scooped them onto a whole wheat wrap from home, and finished it all off with a salty bite of feta cheese.

(p.s. As much as I love roasted veggies, the feta definitely made this meal! )

The first day back can be terribly unsettling.

What time will I eat?  Will I have the time to eat?

Where do I go?  What was that persons’ name again?  And the worst: I think I’m lost.

 But…

Yes, I had time to eat.  I’ll learn peoples’ names eventually.  And it’s impossible to get completely lost, even in an unknown hospital, because there’s always somebody around to redirect me if I look worried enough…ha! 😉 

A fun group of snacks and a tasty lunch didn’t hurt either.

Snacks included:

  • Chocolate Chip Z-Bar
  • Apple
  • Almonds mixed with fancy raisins
  • Sliced papaya

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Roasted Veggie Wrap
Serves 1-2

Roasted veggies make for a fine lunch-to-go.  Make extra during the weekend to carry you through at least the beginning of the week.  For easy lunch options, you could easily mix the veggies with brown rice and baked tofu or chicken for a complete meal.  Or serve them alongside a piece of grilled fish.  Or simple eat as-is, with roasted garbanzo beans and a dollop of gaucamole.  

Or, roll the veggies into a whole wheat wrap and top with feta cheese. 

Whichever way you serve them, roasted veggies offer you a whole lot of nutrition and a whole lot of flavor.  Enjoy! 😀

  • Mixture of your favorite vegetables, sliced to desired thickness (the thicker pieces will require longer cooking time)
  • 1-2 tsp olive oil
  • sea salt and pepper
  • whole wheat wrap
  • feta cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. 
  2. On a rimmed cookie sheet, toss vegetables with oil, salt and pepper.  Place in preheated oven for 10 minutes.  Stir around.  Return to oven for another 10-15 minutes, or until vegetables are cooked as desired (browning is recommended! 😀 ).
  3. Place on a whole wheat wrap, top with feta cheese and enjoy! 😀

Question: What do you do for work (or as a student)?  Do you enjoy it?

14 thoughts on “the return of the boxed lunch

  1. Yum! I am kind of jealous… I just moved into residence and I don’t think I am going to see a roasted vegetable for quite some time, let alone one drizzled with balsamic! Oh well.. I’ll just have to eat vicriously through your amazing photos 😛

  2. Oooooooo, I love the idea of a roasted veggie wrap. We do roasted veggies as a dinner side here often – mostly a combo of butternut squash, carrots and potatoes. There’s just something about roasted veggies during the winter. I’m going to suggest to my wife that the next time she does the roasting we make enough for lunch the next day.

    Good call on the feta cheese. I bet goat cheese would also go great with this wrap. We like to make a roasted squash/zucchini sandwich with goat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes and I can totally taste it (the cheese and/or the sun-dried tomatoes) on a roasted veggie wrap.

    2 thumbs up.

    • They’re larger than your typical ol’ raisin, and are a mixture of different colors. Usually yellow, deep purple, orange. I get mine from Trader Joe’s, but I’ve seen them in some regular supermarkets too.

      It may be just me, but I think they taste so much better. 😉

  3. Your lunch looks simply fantastic. As someone in LOVE with roasted vegetables, I can see myself eating this in the very, very near future. Thanks for the idea!

  4. Ugh, the first day back is always a little cruel, isn’t it?! Glad your day went relatively smoothly…good food throughout the day always helps.

    I’m a 3rd grade teacher and I enjoy it very much! 🙂

  5. This sounds like a satiating and easy-to-do recipe for lunch. Love the feta! Thanks for the idea. I work at a university helping students figure out their career path — I feel like I get to lead the life of a professional and a student all at the same time, so it’s great!

  6. Love the roasted veggie wrap! I may have to try this with some tofu and especially feta. Yummm…Feta! Hope the first day went well for you 🙂

    I’m a stay at home mom, love it!

    Jen

Leave a Reply

