a bowl of broccoli soup

I went a little crazy over the broccoli in the produce isle.

 I’ve been feeling this dreadfully slow pattern of a head cold coming on over the past few days.  Yesterday, it was just a little soreness in my throat.  This morning, it was uncontrollable sneazing.  Tonight, I felt like a heavy brick that just wants to lie down and sleep.  Forever.

And when a cold is indecisively lingering, not really sure if it wants to hit me hard or just up and leave altogether, all I ever really want to eat is soup.  A hot, steaming bowl of soup.

More precisely, a hot, steaming bowl of veggie soup.  

The broccoli was on sale so I took five pounds.  It was much, much, much more than I needed—even for a double batch—so there will be plenty of broccoli both now and in my future. 

The original recipe comes from the most recent Eating Well magazine, but I made my own subtle changes to it.  Such as adding milk instead of the half and half.  And adding in some white beans to help thicken the soup, while also providing some extra protein and fiber.  And I just love how buttery white beans taste.  It was an all-around tasty addition.

Stir, stir, stir…

I’m still sneezing.  I definitely feel like sleeping.  But I have a belly full of warm broccoli soup and I’m feeling just fine.

I just hope it’s Dad who’s feeling motivated for tonight’s run, because I sure could use the pep talk… 😉

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Broccoli Soup

I fell upon this recipe in the most recent Eating Well magazine and knew instantly that I had to make it. 

The soup is very gentle.  Very delicate, with just a hint of creaminess.  If you want to up the richness factor, use part milk and part “half & half.”  Or use the milk but add a handful of sharp cheddar cheese after you’ve blended everything together, allowing it to melt into the soup.

Serve out bowls of broccoli soup with homemade croutons and a few shavings of parmesan cheese.  Or serve with a roasted veggie quesadilla.  This is an easy to make, delightful soup that will warm up any chilly winter evening.  Enjoy! 😀

  • 1 T. butter
  • 1 T. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp chopped fresh thyme
  • 8 c. chopped broccoli
  • 4 c. reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 c. water
  • One 15 oz. can white beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 c. milk, warmed
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Heat butter and oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat until the butter melts.  Add onion and celery; cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, 4-6 minutes.  Add garlic and thyme; cook for about 10 seconds.
  2. Stir in broccoli.  Add broth and water; bring to a lively simmer over high heat.  Reduce heat to maintain a lively simmer and cook until very tender, about 8 minutes.  Add beans.
  3. Puree soup in batches in a blender.  Stir in milk, salt and pepper.  ENJOY!

Question: Do you continue to eat a lot of salads in the winter or do you switch to “warmer’ vegetables such as soups?  I’ve continued eating an abundance of salads, but I’ve been realizing more and more how much I love soups during the chillier months.  They make the perfect dinner after a long, busy day, and—really—I can’t think of a nicer way to warm up after a cold, winter run than hugging a hot bowl of soup.  😀

11 thoughts on “a bowl of broccoli soup

  1. Definitely homemade soups! I just made sweet potato/roasted red pepper soup on Tuesday. It was fantastic! I love this recipe – I’m bookingmarking it. 🙂

  2. Soup wins. No matter what the season. In winter, it’s chicken soup from stock or butternut squash soup with ginger. In summer, it’s gazpacho or that divine avocado-and-pear soup from Moosewood. I still end up eating a lot of salads, because it’s just more convenient and I’m lazy, but given the choice I will ALWAYS choose soup.

  3. This looks like a winner to me! I still eat salads in the chillier weather, but pair them with warm soups. I like the contrast between the cool, crisp salad and the warm, soothing soup.

    I hope your run went well!

  4. I love salad all the time, but definitely crave it and seek it out less in the winter. My problem is that I am always wanting something warm since I am so cold. I miss my salad though and when to the grocery store yesterday and got some goods. I can’t wait to have one for lunch today!!

Leave a Reply

