An Army of Whoopie Pies

Today I was snowed (iced?) in.  I had a long list of to-do’s, one too many chores and six cans of pumpkin. 

6

By this point in time, most people are over and done with having pumpkin in their lives.  Over the pumpkin pies.  The pumpkin breads.  The scoops of pumpkin in yogurt and oats.  I hear you.  I’m over it too—until next fall of course!

But really, I think pumpkin deserves another go-around.  You know.  Before we officially declare it non-pumpkin season. 

7

The original chocolate whoopie pie was one of the first recipes that I ever made.  Somewhere around the age of 8, I decided that this would be a fun experiment.  Maybe it would even give me an excuse to eat chocolate for breakfast (“I’m just testing it out mom.”)

But then something horrible happened.  The puffy, light, beautiful whoopie pie in my dreams turned into a giant, chocolate crepe.  The trash had a better dessert than I did that night.

10

A supportive family is important in these sorts of crisis.  They’ll convince you that nothing is ever really your fault unless it really *is* your fault, in which case they will give you nothing but honesty.  Thankfully, this usually doesn’t apply to baking.  They always find an excuse as to why it wasn’t your fault.  A faulty recipe, perhaps.  And then they encourage you to try, try again.

It may have taken me 15 years to try, try again, but it was worth the wait.

11

1   

Behold, an army of pumpkin whoopie pies.

2

I love that they didn’t let me down this time around. 

I love that they stayed light and puffy and pillowy.

I love that I have a fresh new use for my six five cans of pumpkins.

I love that they’re cute and tiny and perfectly bite sized.

3

I love that they taste as good as they look.

4

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies—adapted from a recipe seen on allrecipes.com

(makes 21 miniature whoopie pies)

They may be tiny, but these pumpkin whoopie pies are intensely sweet, quickly satisfying the sweet tooth. They would make for a fun addition at a dessert tasting party; both kids and kids at heart will appreciate these sweet treats.. 

I added just a touch of maple syrup to the frosting, but the original recipe didn’t call for this.  However, I highly recommend it. Enjoy! 😀

  • 1 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cups solid pack pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 stick softened butter
  • 1-1/2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1-2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-2 tsp maple syrup

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease baking sheets.
  2. Combine the oil and brown sugar. Mix in the pumpkin and eggs, beating well. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger and cloves. Mix well.  Stir together the wet and dry ingredients, just until incorporated.
  3. Drop dough by heaping teaspoons onto the prepared baking sheets, or pipe using a plastic bag with a hole in one end. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 10 to 12 minutes. Let cookies cool completely.
  4. Meanwhile, beat the softened butter until light.  Add powdered sugar and continue to beat until of frosting consistency.  It may appear dry at first, but just keep mixing until the butter continues to soften and becomes well incorporated.  Add vanilla extract and maple syrup.  Beat well.
  5. Cut a hole in the bottom of a plastic bag, scoop frosting inside, and pipe onto whoopie pies.  ENJOY! 😀

Question: Do you have any lingering cans of pumpkin in your house?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

19 thoughts on “An Army of Whoopie Pies

  1. I just looked in my cabinets and realized I have everything I need to make these except cloves- do you think they are necessary? Is there anything I could substitute? I realllly want to make them tomorrow but am too lazy to go to the store :/

    Also, I’m a fairly new reader, but one of the things that really struck me is how awesome your recipes look & sound. There are so many I want to try!

    • Thank you Michelle! 😀

      I think you could definitely nix the cloves, if you don’t happen to have any on hand. You could add a little extra on the other spices OR, if you happen to have allspice on hand, you could use it in place of the cloves. 😀

  2. I’ve definitely got a couple cans of pumpkin in my pantry. I love to bake with it all year long. Your pumpkin whoopie pies sound delicious, much better than chocolate in my opinion, and their miniaturized shape is perfect for me. I love to nibble. I have a new linky on my blog called “Sweets for a Saturday” and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link this up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/01/sweets-for-saturday-1_21.html

  3. Thanks for linking this up to Sweets for a Saturday. I really appreciate the support and hope you’ll be able to join in again next week. By then I’ll have a cute button you can grab.

Leave a Reply

