hello, garbanzo bean.

 

Garbanzo beans and I used to be the best of friends.  I would sprinkle the little chicks onto (and into) everything.  From salads to pilafs to hummus to ridiculously spicy, Indian-inspired entrees.  It was quite the little love affair.

And then, somehow, we fell out of touch with each other.  I’m the one to blame.  I neglected and abandoned the innocent little garbanzos.  Sure, I still cracked open a can now and then (they make for a nice, quick source of protein during a busy weeknight!)  But it was never really anything…you know…special.  Certainly nothing worth talking about.

 

Obviously, it was about time that I reacquainted myself with the simple little bean. 

 

 

Garbanzos are simple.  Very simple.  And they prefer to stay fresh and bright and cheery whenever they can.  For this simple garbanzo bean salad, I chose the freshest ingredients that I happened to have on hand.  A spritz of lemon.  Olive oil.  Fresh basil reserved from the summer.   A small handful of walnuts, thereby adding just a touch of earthiness to the entire dish. 

 

 

I came pretty close to sitting right down, grabbing a spoon, and making a straight up meal out of this garbanzo salad. 

But I practiced some willpower and made sure to reserve some for my lunch.

 

 

Hello, garbanzo bean. 

It’s really nice to see you again.

 

 

Lemony Basil Garbanzo Bean Salad

This simple bean salad is very, very versatile.  Feel free to change up the types and amounts of herbs that you use.  Same goes for the spices.  And—well—same goes for the garbanzo beans (I promise I won’t tell!)

Serve this mild and tangy salad over a fresh garden salad, stuffed into a whole wheat pita pocket, or presented as a side with your favorite meal.  Enjoy! 😀

  • 1 15-oz. can of garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1-2 large handfuls of fresh basil, chopped
  • 1/4 c. chopped walnuts
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • Dash of garlic
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. In a small bowl, mix together all ingredients.  Let sit overnight for the best flavors.  Serve and enjoy!

Question: Do you enjoy eating beans and legumes?  What are some of your favorite ways to serve them?

 

10 thoughts on “hello, garbanzo bean.

  1. This salad looks lovely! I really like the crunchy addition of walnuts mixed with the fresh flavors of the lemon and basil. I can just imagine it being perfect come summertime 🙂
    I love garbanzo beans, too – definitely my favorite bean!

  2. I’m glad you and the garbanzo reconnected. A love affair like that is worth saving.

    Overall, garbanzo beans are my favorite. They’re handy in so many dishes – hummus, chana masala, saag chana, chickpea tacos, falafel, roasted on salads… But lately I’ve been really into pinto beans. I’m especially enjoying the recipe for refried beans from “Viva Vegan.”

  3. I LOVE beans in wraps – black beans, fava beans, green beans, white beans, you name it! My husband once took a picture of our cabinet because we had so many cans of beans! 🙂

  4. I love garbanzo beans! I think I like them most in sauces. It often happens that I get too full by eating them, though, because I don’t realize how ‘heavy’ they can make me feel until it’s already too late, heh.

Leave a Reply

