Define Yourself.

I think—knock on wood—that I am officially on the upswing.  My sore throat is gone.  My energy levels are (above) normal.  And my appetite…well…it never really left. 😉

My hope is that by tomorrow, I’ll be feeling 100% better.  100% me!! Back in the kitchen with a whisk and a hearty appetite for life and cooking.  In the meantime, I thought I’d share with you, one of my most favorite mantras…

“Define Yourself”

I roll this simple little statement over and over in my head when I’m out on a run.  Especially the tough ones.  When the steep hill feels too long.  Too impossible.  Too steep.

Sarah?  Define yourself.

And it’s not just running that this mantra applies to.  In fact, if I didn’t believe so much in “running to slow things down,” this may very well have been my blog title.

This morning, I found myself knee deep in stress.  Yes.  Stress.  That delightful word that happens to each and every one of us at one point or another.

You know.  Those times when you feel like your chest is one big knot and your mind is running a million miles a minute, and you just want it all to stop, stop, stop.  This morning, that was me.  And I vented.  In every single sense of the word, I vented: So much to do!  So little time!  No time to breathe!  Ten hour work days!  Too little sleep!

Yes.  I vented and vented and then vented some more.  I vented my heart out to my poor mom who listened and nodded and then sent me off to work with a kiss, a smile, and an “I’ll pray for you.” (Thank God for Moms)  I felt like one big stress ball, ready to break into tears at any given moment.

It’s easy, during those stressful moments, to feel like nobody on the planet knows what it’s like to feel your level of stress.  If only they understood!  But the truth is that we all have stress.  Each and every one of us.  The only difference is that some of us know how to handle it better than others.

We have the option of letting stress control our lives.  OR, we can take control of the stress.

The busy weeks that never end.  The people that make us feel like pulling our hair from our head.  The car that is driving impossibly slow on the highway.  We certainly can’t always control the situation.  But we CAN control our attitude.

I lightened up.  I breathed.  I sipped a cup of tea on route to work.  And then I smiled because life goes on and tomorrow is Friday and to do my best is all that I can do.

“Define yourself.”

Question: How do you handle stress?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “Define Yourself.

  1. Goodness I needed to read this post! I feel so worn down emotionally, mentally and physically from my killer Chemistry class! School is stressing me out this semester, and unfortunately it’s hard for me to stay positive on the inside and when I talk to my mom everyday. It’s nice to read something like this from the perspective of a girl my age, though…it gives me inspiration! So thanks 🙂 And I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  2. I’ve been crazy stressed lately too. I always make sure I have something fun to look forward to, I remind myself that I CAN save stuff to do tomorrow and I repeat “everything is only for now”. Hope your feeling better, have a great weekend!

  3. Haha I have a feeling many of us are about to vent at your blog!
    But thank you… I’m overwhelmed with stress about visas and work and moving house and not enough time to sleep and eat let alone run or go to yoga… It’s good to be reminded that everyone has times like this — I waste too much energy on trying to convey to people how stressful my life is — I need to redirect it into making sure I control my reactions to these stressors!

  4. It depends on how tired I am. Sometimes, I surprise myself and handle stress really well. Other times… well… my best friend is a box of kleenex. Ha ha. 🙂

  5. How true that is. I can related, especially when it comes to balancing school and work (although I’m not working this semester). I would worry so much about every little thing…will I get it done in time? what if I don’t do as well as I hoped?

    I have learned to handle this by going for a walk, getting fresh air, and smiling. Sometimes, taking time away from what is stressing me out and focusing on what is important to me in life (life family and friends and baking) help me put everything in perspective. Keep SMILING!!

  6. i love this post! and your photos are beautiful by the way! I used to be SO bad at handling stress but now I must say- as years have gone on I am pretty darn good at it! when i am stressed i unfortunately love reaching for food! but i try to combat that by journaling or running outside or by doing yoga or something. i try to step outside the box and see the bigger picture and make myself realize that it all just doesnt matter as much as i think!

Leave a Reply

