Birthday Bash!

Sometimes I forget how yummy oatbran is, all by itself.  Usually I combine it with my morning oats but not today.  It was so creamy and soft!

  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1/4 c. wheatbran
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 banana
  • toppings: 1/2 banana, serving of mixed nuts, 1 T. crushed flax, drizzle of Vermont maple syrup

I felt as if I were on top of a mountain, backpacking. :mrgreen:  This is such a warm, rustic-feeling breakfast. 😀

After the morning church service, I love heading out for a walk.  Today I went out for a brisk 3-miles and followed up with a quick lunch so I could start getting ready for a) my dad’s birthday and b) giving Stitch a bath (poor thing!)

Lunch was easy to throw togethers, since it was leftovers from yesterday.  First I topped my salad with some of the lentil taco mix…

And then rolled up some into a whole wheat flat wrap…so yummy! 😀

Afternoon snack while washing the kitties…

Time to PART-AY! :mrgreen:

It’s my Dad’s 52nd birthday! 😀

Check out the cute little tool box that Nicole brought over for him.  Perfect for storing screws, nails…or salt and pepper shakers. 😀 (somehow I think my dad will prefer the former 😉 )

Matthew and Kelsey came down too…it was so nice seeing them both again!

We planned out a 7-course meal for my dad, which started with an awesome cheese from Whole Foods.  This was a delicious Aged Cheddar with Irish Whiskey.  After letting it sit out to room temperature for about 30 minutes, it was really soft and super flavorful

On the side there were also some green and kalamata olives.

Second course: fruit salad!

It was fun standing around the cheese and fruit platter, just chatting with everyone.  😀

We leisurely moved on to the next course: a side salad.

Nicole was in charge of the next course, which was the bread.  She makes the best foccacia bread.  I was over her house when she was making it, and the entire kitchen was absorbed in the smell of rosemary and olive oil. 

I made the herbed carrot soup from Moosewood Cookbook.  This is one of my favorite vegetable puree soups because it’s super flavorful and really easy to make as well.  Very rustic. 😀

Mom was hard at work making the entree, a shrimp fettucine.  Delicious!

She also made her special homemade chocolate cake with the whippiest white frosting ever. 

Sooo yummy! 😀

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!!! 😀

I’m super tired right now!  I have an early morning tomorrow with physical therapy, so I think I’m going to hit the hay early tonight. 😉  Hope you all had a lovely weekend!

Question: How do you usually celebrate your birthday (or is it always different?) 

This entry was posted in 1 by One Beautiful Life. Bookmark the permalink.

About One Beautiful Life

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a 30 something year old who loves Jesus, nutrition, green tea, my family and my tuxedo cat named Humphrey. I enjoy photography, cooking and working at the local hospital as a Registered Dietitian. Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “Birthday Bash!

  1. Happy birthday to your dad! What a timely question for me 🙂 I’m glad I’m on break so I’ll be with my family tomorrow. I guess the actual day is going to be low key; we usually celebrate mostly on Easter with my dad’s side of the family

  2. Happy birthday to your dad!! It looks like he had some great food to celebrate 😀

    Over the years, birthdays have become less of a big deal to me (I sound so old? haha). Usually it’s just a relaxed night with friends

  3. FAntastic birthday celebration for your day! The cake and the focaccia looked out of this world delicious!
    And I love to celebrate with my family and best friends. Just good food and good company, no matter where we are!
    I agree- oatbran is so wonderful- such a yummy simple comfort!

  4. What a great party! Happy Birthday to your Dad!

    I’ve never had the oatbran mix and it looked so good and interesting. I’ll have to pick some up and experiment. Love to have new breakfast options.

  5. happy b-day to dad too. what a fun day for you and your family. loved your taco seasoning idea with the lentils! hope you had a great monday 🙂

Leave a comment