that perfect afternoon

The weathermen aren’t always right, you know.

The expected 12-24 inches went off to other towns.  Other areas.  Namely, Boston, which I heard received about a foot and a half of fluffy white.

Here, we still received about 8-12 inches.  And I’m totally happy with that.  😀

Just enough snow to make everything look delicious and fresh. 

Not too much snow to keep me trapped indoors and off the roads.

That perfect amount.

Speaking of “that perfect amount,” walking in the snow provides a whole new level of working out. 

Mom and I threw on our hiking boots, donned our scarves and warmest jackets, and trekked our way across mounds of snow.  Four miles worth of taking two steps forward, one slippery step back.   It was such an old school way of going to the post office, just to mail a package.  But it was fun and productive, and it felt absolutely wonderful on the legs! 😀

By the time I came back, everything felt exhausted.  The windy gusts had knocked me around like a rag doll.  And my face was slowly—slowly—dethawing.

My appetite was ferocious.

And nothing but soup made sense.

Carrot soup is one of my most favorite of vegetable soups.

Maybe it’s because there’s not much to be expected from the humble carrot, and I like to prove a world of tastebuds wrong.  Most people think of raw, boring carrot sticks taking up space on the side of a plate.  Or carrot cake, which certainly does earn a high reputation, but that’s besides the point.

Carrot soup is where it’s at.  Warm, inviting.  Bright and savory.  Both nutritious and delicious.

It pairs as a lovely side to any salad or sandwich.  And since my appetite was throught the roof after a walk in the cold and snow, I took the sandwich route; my teeth felt like they needed to bite into something.

I toasted a simple lemon & dill hummus sandwich on some grainy Ezekiel bread slices.  A warm, satisfying meal.

That perfect amount of snow.

That perfect meal to warm up with after a chilly walk.

That perfect afternoon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Herbed Carrot Soup—as seen in Moosewood Cookbook and on this website.

This is one of my most treasured, favorite recipes.  It’s simple to make and goes wonderfully with grilled cheese sandwiches or just as is with a couple of croutons and a scoop of greek yogurt.  I’ve seen some people eat it over a bowl of rice, transforming the “soup” into a “sauce.”  Whichever way you eat it, this warming recipe is simply delicious.

  • 2 pounds peeled, chopped carrots
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 medium potato, peeled and chopped
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1-2 small cloves crushed garlic
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 2 T. lemon juice
  1. Place carrots, liquid, and potato into a medium sized soup pot and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer it for 12-15 minutes. Let cool slightly.
  2. Saute the onion and salt in the oil for about 5 minutes.  Add garlic and herbs until onions are tender (about 5 more minutes.)  Stir in lemon juice.
  3. Puree everything together in a blender until smooth.  Place back in pot and keep on low heat until ready to serve.  ENJOY!

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lemon Dill Hummus

A container of fresh dill was sitting in my fridge, with absolutely no purpose other than to look pretty.  And that is how this simple, savory spread was born. 

Lemon and dill are two flavors that always go well together, and hummus is no exception for this lively pair.  Enjoy this bright spread on crackers, sandwiches or salads.

  • 1 15-oz. can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 2 T. lemon juice
  • 1-2 T. fresh dill
  • dash of cayenne
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. In a food processor, mix all of the ingredients together.  Taste and adjust seasonings as preferred.
  2. ENJOY! 😀

Question: Are you making any New Years Resolutions?  How far ahead do you start to plan them out?  What are some ways you make sure they’re successful (are they successful?) 

10 thoughts on “that perfect afternoon

  1. Carrot soup! I’ve actually never tried it 😛 I eat carrot fried quite often, and I love the roasted flavour that the oven gives them. Winter days are definitely perfect for sandwiches and soup though… my personal favourite is turkey soup made out of holiday leftovers. Yum!

  2. Soup and sandwich always make perfect cold weather meals! I don’t generally do resolutions. Or, if I do – I make 1 or 2 “big” ones, rather than lots of small ones. After seeing so many 2011 “vision boards” on blogs though, I’m starting to think about maybe doing one.

  3. I’m jealous of your snow! We have yet to have a big snowstorm here and it just doesn’t feel like December! Plus, I would love an excuse to eat that cozy looking post-walk meal…it looks like the ultimate comfort food!

  4. I love the snow! I feel like the weatherman said we were supposed to get WAY more than we actually did, so I am kinda bummed. We have like 8 or 10 or 12 inches out there though, so I guess that’s something to be thankful for! Merry Christmas!

  5. I love love love carrot soup! My husband thinks I’m a nut because in Florida no one has heard of carrot soup. I usually make a carrot ginger soup but this looks like a nice variation to try. Also, the hummus looks great!

Leave a comment