So many options, so little time…

I had three options this morning:

  1. Sleep in.
  2. Go for a short 2-mile run before showering and heading off to volunteer at the hospital.
  3. Make a nice meal for breakfast and relax.

I toyed with all three of the above for a good 10 minutes, while lying in bed.  When it came right down to it, I finally decided that I wanted to go for a run and I also wanted a nice breakfast.  That was probably a mistake to pick both, but I did. 😉

I jumped out of bed, got dressed, grabbed my running gear (aka, pair of sneakers…I’m just sooo high tech! 😉 ) and made myself a quick snack: toast with a blob of peanut butter and strawberry slices.

100_6857

I also guzzled some water, but not too much.  There’s nothing worse then a jostling belly full of liquid on a morning run. 😀 

The run was a short 2-miles but it was well worth getting up for.  There was a thick fog rising up off the ground, which created a breathtaking view along the farm fields.  I always take my morning runs to just have some quiet “me time.”  It helps me refocus, gives me time to pray, and just really sets my day out the right way. 

Since I had decided early on that I wanted the best of both worlds–a morning workout and a hearty breakfast–I couldn’t get oat cakes out of my mind.  I had about 10 minutes to prep, cook, and eat it, BUT it was definitely worth it and I really enjoyed it. 😀

I made the oat cakes my usual way, and added some strawberries to the side which I promptly dunked into the warmed, mashed banana and ate with my doughy cakes.  Yes, doughy.  They were undercooked due to my being in a rush, but I find that the less I cook them, the more I love them.  These babies are meant to be doughy, I think. 😀

100_6861

I grabbed a coffee-to-go in my tea tumbler–along with a splash of soy–and headed off to the food service department.

This lab requires me to fill in 40 hrs. of volunteering in the kitchen, and so far I’m only up to 15.  I’ve definitely spent more time in the nutrition department then I have in the kitchen. haha…hopefully after the 4th of July, I can really crack down on this assignment though, and get everything all completed.

Lunch came around 12’ish…much better then yesterday’s 3 o’clock lunch. 😉

It was the exact same thing I had yesterday, minus the avocado…I’m lovin’ these sweet potato chips. 

100_6862

The sun has been going in and out all day.  I’ve been trying to take advantage of the sun whenever I can, and was excited to see the daisies popping up in the backyard.  They always remind of the movie You’ve Got Mail.  😀  They’re definitely my favorite flower.  If flowers had personalities, daisies would be one of the happiest, optimistic ones. 😀

100_6865

This afternoon I made a smoothie that wasn’t worth writing home about.  Unfortanetly I ate the last banana for breakfast, which made this smoothie lack some necessary sweetness.  I don’t want to post the recipe because I really don’t want you guys to try it and be disappointed. 😉  But I will create a much more tasty version, because it has potential for greatness. 😀

100_6867

Dinner was a plate of many colors. 😀  I decided tonight that it’s one of my favorite meals.

We rarely have salmon because it’s just so expensive for the wild caught variety (unless you buy it canned, which is a nutritious and tasty option.)  But on the occasion that it goes on sale, I become one of the happiest girls around. 😀  It’s by far my favorite fish.  It’s almost sweet tasting, and the dark, red color puts the farm raised salmon to shame.  Oh my…love it!

I kept it simple by sprinkling the salmon with salt and pepper and throwing it on the grill for 5 minutes on each side, for a total of 10 minutes.  Sometimes marinades and sauces are great, but sometimes you just gotta stick with simplicity. 😉

On the side, I made a blend of whole grain rice too.  The veggies were super easy to prepare, by the way.  I sprayed a cookie sheet, threw some chopped zucchini and beets on to it, and drizzled 1 T. of olive oil over the whole thing (for about 3 small zucchinis and 1 small bunch of beets.)  Then I sprinkled on some salt and pepper to again keep things simple, and popped it in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes—stirring halfway through the cooking time.

They get all caremalized and delicious… 😀

Oh, there were also some sauteed beet greans on the side too…can’t let those go to waste!

100_6870

I wanted something sweet for dessert, while also still feeling a little bit hungry.  This hit the spot…a toast with pb and swirly chocolate chips. 😀

100_6871

I felt really productive today, finishing up some homework, going for a run and a walk, blogging, and volunteering at the hospital…it was a full day but now I can just relax!!  I need to remind myself that it feels good to be productive instead of procastinating. 😉

Can you believe tomorrow is already Hump Day???

Exercise: 2-mile morning run and a 4-mile afternoon walk with mom… 😀

(p.s. I can guarentee you there will be a bowl of cereal later tonight…my stomach is already starting to rumble again.  I swear, I have an insatiable appetite sometimes! 😀 Have a great night, everyone!!)

This entry was posted in 1 by One Beautiful Life. Bookmark the permalink.

About One Beautiful Life

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a 30 something year old who loves Jesus, nutrition, green tea, my family and my tuxedo cat named Humphrey. I enjoy photography, cooking and working at the local hospital as a Registered Dietitian. Thanks for stopping by!

14 thoughts on “So many options, so little time…

  1. Are those Food Should Taste Good chips?? I just bought some today!

    Glad you killed 2 birds with 1 stone this morning! Best of both worlds!

    • Yep! 😀 Which flavor did you go for? I hope the chocolate ones pop up around me soon, because I would LOVE to give those a try. 😉

  2. look at you go girl!

    i love my things doughy sometimes too – it just makes it extra yummy. daisies are my fave flower as well – i think you hit it spot on with the personality. and finally, LOVE those swirly chips. have a fabulous night 😉

  3. Your day looks delicious. This is the day of bad shakes. Everyone seems to have had a bad experience lately. Congrats on your run this morning. I think I’m going to have to try your oatcakes… Yum! Have a fantastic day tomorrow!

  4. What a yummy looking breakfast! And the salmon! It’s been waaay too long since I’ve had salmon.

    I can totally relate to the insatiable appetite. I feel that way more often then not! I figure though if my tummy is growling, my body must need more fuel!

    • Oh, kabocha! I’ve been seeing it all around the blog world, but have yet to find any near me…that sounds soo delicious though! 😀

  5. those oatcakes look so good 😉 whats the reciepe???
    i love salmon so your dinner is seriously making me hungry lol…

    way to go on the run this morning too 🙂 nothing beats a great morning run!

    • The recipe is the same one on my recipe page. 🙂 Sometimes I’ll tweak things a bit by adding vanilla or extra cinnamon or fruit inside the actual oat cakes. But for the most part, it sticks to the same old delicious concoction. 😀

  6. We almost had the same dessert last night!!

    Are those oatcakes the one on your recipe page? And how long do they hold you? I think I’m gonna make those soon!

    • Yep, they’re the same ones!! And they do hold me over for a good 3-4 hrs. Sometimes more, sometimes less…it seems to depend on how active I’ve been lately or how busy I am through the morning. 😀

  7. Way to get in a run and a good, hearty breakfast before work! I know that can be tough at times 🙂 That salmon is making my mouth water. I could go for some right now!

Leave a comment