July 4th

Happy 4th of July!! 😀

It also happens to be my cousin Andrea’s birthday party celebration, so today was a doubly good day of food and family! 😀

Nicole picked me up and brought me back to her apartment where we put together a little veggie platter and ranch dip to bring to the party…

100_6920

The platter was sitting quite conveniently right in front of me the entire time, and I put a decent sized dent in it by the end of the night. haha…fresh, crisp veggies are simply irresistable to me. 😀

There was a ton of good appetizers, including some shrimp marinara.  Delicious! 😀

100_6922

And the decorations were adorable.  There was a Hawaiin Theme throughout the house, including this water holder.   How cute is that? 😀

100_6925

And then there was the entree table, where there were tons of kebobs, sweet ‘n’ sour chicken, pasta salads, garden salads, coconut shrimp, zucchini bake, etc…

100_6936

…this is just a sample.  I kept going back to try new things until I was comfortably full.  Everything was super delicious.  Especially the coconut shrimp and sweet ‘n’ sour chicken.  So GOOD!! 😀

100_6927

Then it was picture taking time… 😀  Everyone was having a great time, out on the deck enjoying sunny 70 degree weather.  We’ve had 22 rainy days in June this year, which means we were all super excited to finally see the sun.  It was so nice to be outside! 😀

Here’s my Uncle Ron and Aunt Kim, enjoying some sunshine…

100_6928

My parents, sitting under the shade of a palm tree… 😉

100_6929

The birthday girl… 😀

100_6933

The party was so much fun, and we all had a great time.  😀  It was nice to see the family again, including my Aunt Marie and Uncle Claude.  Hopefully we can have another get together soon, perhaps by having a poutine making party. 😀 

100_6935

And the day ended on a sweet note with a big slice of chocolate cake and a scoop of neopolitan icecream.  😀

100_6939

On the way home, as we were driving along the highway, there were fireworks popping up over the hills, behind the trees.  All different colors were lighting up the sky.  I love listening to the crackles and pops at night, as fireworks and sparklers go off all around.  It’s so festive…love it! 😀

Hope you all had a wonderful July 4th!

8 thoughts on “July 4th

  1. Love the Hawaiian themed party – that looks like so much fun! Glad you had an awesome 4th.

    Yeah – Banilla rocked my socks off when I saw it in the store. It’s in the 32oz container and I found it just in my normal grocery store – not WF or TJs! It’s so good – you have to find it!

  2. Looks like you had a festive and delicious 4th of July! 😀 We obviously don’t celebrate it here in Japan but I’m having so much fun reading different bloggers’ posts. 😛

    P.S. The birthday girl looks oh so happy. 🙂 Your parents, uncles, and aunts look too cute in their Hawaiian shirts, too!

Leave a comment