little smiles

Despite having a day absolutely full of studying and homework assignments, I still managed to sneak some of my absolute favoritest of all simple things into my Sunday. 😀 

Smile #1: Apples ‘n’ Oats

  • 1/4 c. each oatmeal and oatbran
  • 1/2 apple
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1 T. raisins

toppings: walnuts, granola and coconut…I smiled through every bite. 😀

Smile #2: Whole Foods coffee beans, brewed at home! 😀  The beans make for a perfectly dark, roasted cup of coffee.  I love sitting on the living room couch and savoring every last drop!

Smile #3: A new favorite snack: laughing cow cheese on Doctor Kracker Seeded Spelt crackers with a pat of sweet homemade blueberry jam.

4, 5, 6…six smiles! 😀

Smile #3: Eating with chopsticks!  Mom made a European dish of sauteed cabbage, sweet onions, white beans and pasta (we used whole wheat egg noodles!) with side salads.

The entire cabbage was shredded and sauteed with 2 whole onions and a bit of butter for added richness and depth of flavor.  The result was a caramelized bowl of yum!

Smile #4: Nicole stopped by and brought me a slice of her homemade banana fluff pie! 😀  I felt as if I were eating a giant marshmallow infused with sweet bananas.  It was so light and pillowy.  Thanks Nicole!  And can I request this for my birthday? :mrgreen:

Smile #5: More bananas!  This is my current favorite snack (I’ve been having it as a night snack lately!)  Yogurt with 2 T. flax, topped with 1/2 a sliced banana and topped with a spoonful of granola.  Sooo yummy! 😀

Smile #6: Taking a walk in the woods with dad!  I was so tired of sitting and studying, so it made for the perfect break!  😀

I did not smile over these snow fleas, but I was intrigued by how many there are!  Has anyone seen these before?  I see them every year as the snow begins to melt.  Weird!

Smile #7: Melty cheese quesadillas with salsa for dipping and a warm, comforting cup of homemade minestrone soup on the side. 😀

Seven is my favorite number, so I’m smiling once again.  😀

I hope you all had a very refreshing, smile filled weekend!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “little smiles

  1. isn’t it great how the littlest things are so awesome during a long weekend of studying? I feel like when I have TONS of work to do, the little things like taking a simple walk are so awesome!

  2. I also love sitting on the couch and savoring my coffee – such a “weekend feeling” to that activity.

    I’ve never heard of snow fleas! How interesting!

Leave a Reply

