Out and About

I could not wait to run this morning! 

First I put a creamy bowl of blueberry oats together.  I used to have a problem of soupy oatmeal whenever I added the frozen blueberries, but that’s because I added it all together in the cooking liquid right away.  The secret is to cook the berries on the side, just until dethawed but before the skins start to break.  Then you can fold it in the cooked oats, gently avoiding breaking them.  It prevents watery oats! 😀

  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1 c. milk + a little over 1/2 c. water
  • ground mace
  • 1 T. flax (added in with blueberries at end of cooking)
  • 1 c. frozen blueberries, heated in skillet, and added at end of cooking

I then topped the bowl with 2 T. walnuts, 2 T. FEED cranberry coconut granola, and a sprinklin’ of coconut.  YUM!

101_8485

The run was fabulous, as I knew it would be. 😀  This cool weather brings out a whole new energetic side of me that even I forgot I had. 😉  It took all my effort to keep my strides short.  I felt like a thoroughbred biting at the bit, waiting to be released into a full gallop! 😀 

Later this morning, I decided to head out and shop for some school suppliesMostly for notebooks, pens, and things like that.  But with whole foods being right there, of course I needed to stock up on some necessary foods as well.  Almond butter?  Yes, that’s absolutely necessary of course!  Right? 😉

While out and about, I stopped at a favorite cafe, where I picked up a wonderful Mediterranean Salad.  It was topped with homemade hummus, tabouleh, and some kalamata olives.  The hummus was super garlicy, which I loved. 

101_8487

The hummus was also great for dunking these homemade pita wedges into. 😀  They were wonderful, and so was the salad.  Very fresh and super filling to boot.  I walked away feeling full but in a good way. 😀

101_8489

I browsed through barnes and noble, picked up an iced grande soy latte, headed to whole foods and found…drum roll….

this!…

I was so excited, after seeing Larabar’s new flavors around blog land lately.  Once back in the car, I broke into my afternoon snack.  First I smelled it, and immediately thought “pb and jelly sandwich!”  But I can honestly say that I’m not a huge fan of the taste!  I thought the cherries were a bit out of place.  I mean, they were chewy and sticky like you expect jam to be.  But they were sour, and I thought the peanut butter flavor was simply being overpowered by the cherries.  I would have loved more peanut butter flavor and a sweeter jam—maybe strawberries? 

So far, peanut butter cookie and cashew cookie are still my faves! 😀

101_8490

Dinner expectations: lentil tacos.

Actual Dinner: lentil…???…something, something.

I don’t really know what to call this, or what it really is…haha.  I discovered that we were out of salsa, a main ingredient of my lentil taco recipe.  Feeling fried and pooped out, I just wanted to throw something together that would be healthy, satisfying, and tasty.  I’m not asking too much, right? 😀

I don’t know the exact proportions of any of the ingredients, so this is the one and only time that it will probably ever be put together.  I do know that there is 1 lb. lentils, 2 cans of diced tomatoes, garlic, onion, curry powder, cayenne, lemon juice, and ginger.  It did the trick, especially when served on a bed of brown rice with steamed asparagus on the side.  I love lentils—I know I’ve said this a kazillion times, but they truly are so versatile and make for a quick and healthy meal. 😀

101_8491

With a peice of 80% dark chocolate and almond butter for dessert—I’m officially restocked with dark chocolate, woohoo!—I was officially content and satisfied. 😀

101_8493

Night time snack was a mish mash bowl, and was super fun to munch on. 😀 

  • 1/2 c. cottage cheese
  • 1/2 c. kashi go lean
  • raisins
  • scoop of peanut butter

101_8497

This was a quickie post due to me being plain tuckered out! 😀  Tomorrow I have plans to go grocery shopping, hopefully fitting in some internship stuff too.  And then Friday morning I have a long run planned with a family cookout for dinner.  Last weekend before school starts! 😀

Happy Hump Day!!!

Exercise: 4-mile run + 4 mile post dinner walk

This entry was posted in 1 by One Beautiful Life. Bookmark the permalink.

About One Beautiful Life

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a 30 something year old who loves Jesus, nutrition, green tea, my family and my tuxedo cat named Humphrey. I enjoy photography, cooking and working at the local hospital as a Registered Dietitian. Thanks for stopping by!

21 thoughts on “Out and About

  1. glad you had a good run! This fall-ish weather is making me more excited to run, too 🙂

    i’ve got to try this dark chocolate + almond butter combo!

  2. Yummy breakfast!!! And such a good tip with the frozen fruit!! I honestly never use them in my oatmeal anymore because of the liquidy factor… this will be so helpful, thank you! 🙂

    love your post dinner walks! So peaceful! I wish I got home early enough for that! I try to at least get out on my lunch break at work if the weather is cooperating! but would be a nice way to unwind at the end of the day!

    have a good night!

  3. ohhhhh that salad looks so good. the more garlicky, the better in my book. woowoo for a whole foods run – the tropical fruit tart lara is sooooo good! don’t give up hope for the new laras because that one is so good!

    i also just had choc + AB. i sprinkled some coconut on it and my heavens, it was gooooooood! have a good night dear!

    • You know, I’ve never tried it with strawberries, but that’s my new mission. 😀 I have a feeling they might be even more watery, especially if they’re diced up rather then whole. But there’s got to be a way around this too, I would think.

  4. I wish my runs were as inspiring and amazing as yours! Sounds like a dream compared to the terrible speed work I had to do this morning.
    I really liked the PB&J larabar but I agree about the cherries – very sour and quite out of place. I like your thinking on strawberry replacing it!

    That mediterranean salad looks so good! Oh my gosh, all that hummusy wonderment!

  5. I want to eat everything you ate today! Seriously, it all looks so good – especially those lentils. Yum, yum, yum.

    On another note – I feel exactly the same way as you do about running lately – where is all this energy and motivation coming from?! I am not going to question it, just “run” with it…haha, so lame, I know. 🙂

  6. I just ate some blueberry and coconut oats too 😀 Good stuff! Garlicky hummus rocks my world- most places don’t put in enough for me! Try the PBJ Lara again- seems people are finding that the PB/fruit ratio varies a lot from bar to bar for some reason?!

    Have a great Thursday- almost the weekend!

  7. I bought lentils and salsa last night! 😀 So excited to try out lentil recipes. Next up will be hummus. I got tons of garlic, can’t wait.
    Now your post inspired me to run tonight, thanks! When’s your race again?

    • The race is September 20th…and coming up incredibly fast! 😀

      I can’t wait to hear how your lentil recipes come out. 😀

  8. AWESOME blueberry tip, I never add blueberries into cooked oats for exactly that reason! Thanks, I will definitely be remembering this!

    And I am mucho jealous of your PB&J Larabar. I WILL find it someday! I will!

  9. That salad looks great!

    An that almond butter…I wish I could buy that over here. So many people blog about it and can’t wait to try it some time…

    But: I received my order of Larabars from the US yesterday! So I’ve got a whole new supply to keep me going for a while! Couldn’t order the new flavors unfortunately…

    Have a great day! xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  10. oh i LOVE that feeling! Being ready and raring for a run! so great! sure beats feeling lazy and like a nap is a better idea haha

    i have massive meal envy about for bfast and lunch! that salad looks AMAZING, and i do looooove garlic. i need to find a nice little cafe like that! I LOVE packing my own lunch, but i wouldnt mind eating out now and then. i work in the middle of nooowhere and its like an hour and some commute from my town, and we only get a half hour lunch, so i have no exciting eat out adventures for lunch time 😦

    to end on less complainy note:
    your mid night snack looks SO perfect! yum yum

  11. I was excited when I saw the new Larabar flavours. But I have not heard anyone say that they loved the new Peanut Butter & Jam one. I guess that I will have to try it for myself when it finally makes its way to my little island!

Leave a comment