Fabulous Fridays :)

I was so tired last night, and didn’t wake up until 7:30 this morning.  And when I did wake up, I just felt so cozy in bed, listening to the rain pouring against the roof, that I almost considered sleeping in!  Until I realized it wasn’t quite Saturday yet, and I needed to get a move on…thank goodness for breakfast cookies and their miraculous power of getting people out of bed.  It’s true. 😀

Today’s breakfast cookie was extra dark and chocolatey…

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1 T. salted & chunky pb
  • 2 T. unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 T. milk

Swirl, swirl, swirl…mash, mash, mash…press, press, press.  On to the plate, and into the fridge until this morning when I topped it off with some raisins (chocolate covered raisins, anyone? 😉 ) and coconut. 

I then headed to the couch for some studying.  Studying for Medical Nutrition Therapy is 10x more interesting then studying for Biochemistry, so I stayed pretty focused until around 10’ish when I broke out a snack…

…cheese and crackers: “the kids version.”  I used to eat American cheese all the time when I was a kid, but now I usually only like it in grilled cheese sandwiches.  But for some reason, I had the urge to eat it on crackers.

…like so.  It was instant flashback to my childhood.  Except I would have eaten the cheese on ritz or saltines instead of kashis.  😉

I couldn’t resist another mish-mosh, turkey-day style salad for lunch.  Except I had buffalo style chicken in place of the turkey.  And I don’t think avocados are “authentically” meant for Thanksgiving, but you get the drift…there’s just something about cranberry sauce and poultry that scream thanksgiving to me.  So until the leftover turkey offerings actually do come around, this will do the trick. 😀

  • cucumbers
  • carrots
  • tomatoes
  • 1/4 avocado
  • black olives, sliced
  • green olives
  • 3-oz. buffalo chicken
  • cranberry sauce
  • splash of balsamic and a spritz of orange juice

…urm..yep, I think that was everything!

+ grapes for dessert.

This afternoon was a long one!  My Nutrition professor held a review session directly after the 3-hr. lecture.  Thank goodness for packed snacks (aka, orange and almonds) and good friends who share their snacks (aka, chile mango slices from TJ’s.)  Thanks Jessica! 😀

My snacks did a nice job of holding me over, but by the time I came home, I was 100% ready for dinner.  Especially since one of my favorite Moosewood Cookbook recipes was on the agenda for tonight: Gypsy Soup!  I make it the “cheater way” by using canned, diced tomatoes instead of blanching fresh ones, but you could do it either way you prefer.  The soup is full of sweet potatoes, green bell peppers, tomatoes, garbanzo beans, celery, etc.  It’s spicy and sweet all at the sime time, and I honestly could not say enough wonderful things about it.  Mmm….

…oh, and some whole wheat bunnies found their way into the picture too. 😀

Dad was craving icecream a few nights back, and decided upon Ben & Jerry’s Fossil Fuel.  I snuck a tiny bowl tonight to try some, and savored it with my tiniest of spoons…haha. 😀 

Agenda for the rest of the night:

  • Study Medical Nutrition Therapy for an hour or so
  • Bubble Bath
  • TV watching

…and most definitely a snack because my stomach is still feeling grumbly! 

Happy Friday and enjoy the WEEKEND!

 

This entry was posted in 1 by One Beautiful Life. Bookmark the permalink.

About One Beautiful Life

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a 30 something year old who loves Jesus, nutrition, green tea, my family and my tuxedo cat named Humphrey. I enjoy photography, cooking and working at the local hospital as a Registered Dietitian. Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Fabulous Fridays :)

Leave a comment