Kohlrabi: The Funny Looking Vegetable

Every day after school, I pass this little organic farm stand on my drive home.  It’s run and operated by an elderly, retired couple who garden for the pure joy of it.  Aside from their assortment of tasty, fresh vegetables and cheap prices, they also offer a whole host of ideas and inspiration.  I always take for granted where my vegetables are coming from, but to actually talk to the growers is a real treat. 😀  And with today being Tempt the Tastebuds Wednesday, I knew immediately that I wanted to sample a new vegetable. 

I pulled into the old dirt road and realized that nobody was home.  An old, rusted tackle box was left out front for the money to be dropped off in, and a small assortment of vegetables was being kept under the wooden shed.  I went in looking for the most odd, random vegetable I could find and left with a handful of these.  The sign read “kohlrabi.”  I thought they looked more like space ships. 😀

101_8801

What is a kohlrabi?  It’s related to the cabbage, but is often compared to a turnip in flavor and crunch.  It also has a lot of bragging rights when it comes to nutrition.   One cup of raw kohlrabi contains:

  • 40 calories
  • 5 g. fiber
  • 2 g. protein
  • 140% vitamin C!

Not bad for a funny looking veggie.  You might be more familiar with seeing the green varieties in the supermarket, which are equally just as nutritious.  😀

Anyways, on to how you can actually eat a kohlrabi!  I did a little research and found that the flavor is often compared to turnips, cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, and even apples.  After peeling the tough exterior, I sliced a chunk off and ate it raw.  And immediately I understood the cabbage/turnip comparisons.  It had the sweetness of turnips with the crunch and slight bitterness of cabbage or radishes.  You could totally eat it raw, on top of salads or sandwiches.  In fact, I plan on doing just that!  But I’m a huge fan of roasting my veggies, and couldn’t wait to see how these would come out after being subjected to some high heat in the oven. 😀

I layered the peeled and sliced kohlrabi onto a sprayed cookie sheet, and popped it in the 425 F oven for 20-25 minutes, flipping once half way through.

101_8808

I added a little salt and pepper, and took a bite.  It was wonderfully crispy, rustic, and earthy.  I’m a new fan of this funny looking veggie, and can’t believe that I haven’t tried it until now.  Considering how easy it was to prepare and how much both my dad and I loved it, I think its going to find a new place in the household. 😉

101_8810

Have any of you ever tried kohlrabi, and if so, what’s your favorite way to prepare it???

~~

I have to give a big shout out of THANKS for all your support and your kind comments, regarding the change of direction that the blog is taking. 😀  I also appreciate the advice, comments, suggestions for future posts as well.  I’ll definitely be including more oatmeal posts and nutrition posts as some of you requested 😀 , and if there’s ever anything else you’d all like to see, feel free to give a shout out. 😀

In further news, tomorrow I have a 3-mile run planned.  It’s the last one before Sunday, which is the day of the 10k! 😀  Off to get a good nights rest so I can feel refreshed for a morning run…

…G’night! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by One Beautiful Life. Bookmark the permalink.

About One Beautiful Life

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a 30 something year old who loves Jesus, nutrition, green tea, my family and my tuxedo cat named Humphrey. I enjoy photography, cooking and working at the local hospital as a Registered Dietitian. Thanks for stopping by!

15 thoughts on “Kohlrabi: The Funny Looking Vegetable

  1. 140% Vit C! Cool, wish we had those here.
    Race day is coming so soon. So excited for you! 😀

    About making changes to your blog, I understand and support your move. I really believe that you have a lot to offer and share. Whatever it is you will be writing about, I’ll surely come and read all about it. 😉

  2. You can also cook the koolrabi till it’s soft and mash it up with potato (and maybe some butter or oil). That way, you get a really different and delicious potato-veggie-mash.

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  3. This was great – I’m loving your new approach already.

    I’ve never had kohlrabi but I find it I’m totally snagging it and coming back here for the how-to.

    I didn’t realize your 10K was this weekend! GOOD LUCK!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes, I hope you post a big race-recap for us!

    Thanks for reading the RW article too, I’m glad you liked it. 😀

  4. Ahhh, are you doing a 10k this Sunday too?? I am! It’s my longest running race yet, so I’m equally excited/nervous!

    At first I thought that was dragon fruit! Turnip is actually the only veggie I don’t like, however, I’m not opposed to trying anything once! It looks really good roasted.

  5. Wow! That roasted kohlrabi looks awesome! I love roasted veggies, as well. And actually, I’ve never tried kohlrabi but it is one thing we actually get regularly at our grocery store here in the middle of the desert in Saudi Arabia so I will have to try this for sure. Thank you for the inspiration!

  6. I have never tried kohlrabi but I love the name! I love this Tempt the Tastebuds idea most of all I think – love trying new foods!
    As if your race is this sunday – it’s come around so fast!! You’re going to do amazingly. Good luck on the last 3 miler today and I can’t wait for a race re-cap after sunday!

Leave a comment