first day of spring

For some strange, unknown reason, all I wanted this morning was a cold bowl of crunchy cereal.  It’s so unlike me, but I decided to just roll with it. 😉

  • 1-1/2 c. Barbaras Shredded Oats (these are awesome, and very similair in taste to the Quaker Oat Squares)
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 1 c. milk
  • 2 T. wheat bran, stirred into milk
  • handful of almonds (about 20)

I think the warm, spring-y weather is bringing out my love for cold breakfasts once again. 😀

Mid-morning was full of blissful outdoor activities. 😀

I fit in 40 minutes of strength training as well as my knee exercises (these take up a lot of time, but I’m hoping it will be well worth it in the end!)  Then I was off for a 3-mile walk with my parents to soak up some lovely Saturday sunshine.  When Matthew woke up, I was off yet again for a 9-mile bike ride.  It felt so good to be moving all morning—it reminded me of the feeling I get after a weekend long run.  Love it! 😀

For a juicy snack, I noshed on a huge red grapefruit—they’re so sweet right now!

Lunch started off well enough, with kashis and a huge dollop of peanut butter.

But don’t let this frothy green monster fool you.  It was not amazing.  Let me explain.

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1-1/2 c. milk
  • 1/4 c. wheat bran
  • 4 c. kale
  • Topping: Galaxy Granola

Problem 1: not enough sweetener…a whole banana for this sized smoothie would have been way better

Problem 2: four cups of kale was a bit much

Problem 3: four cups of kale plus 1/4 c. wheat bran was way too much 😉

I still ate it, but this smoothie was not on the list of my favorite green monsters, by any means…haha. 

+ dessert, which was sweet and yummy

Nicole and I meandered through Target this afternoon to pick up some mucho needed items (i.e., eye makeup remover, which is such an annoying way to spend money…guys are so lucky that they don’t need to spend money on these kinds of things 😉 )  We also both ordered an iced tall skinny vanilla latte from starbucks—the perfect way to enjoy the first day of spring.

+ a small handful of almonds

I made a quick dinner tonight so that I could crack down on cleaning my closet space.  My room has almost been completely cleaned out from top to bottom, but I still need to clear out all my winter clothes from the closet and start figuring out what I need for the summer. 😀 

Eggs are such a super quick and healthy meal—they’re always my go-to food when I can’t figure out what to make myself. 😀

  • 1 whole egg + 2 egg whites
  • handful of finely chopped broccoli
  • 1/4 T. butter
  • chopped onions
  • salt and pepper
  • topping: salsa

I also cooked up some cabbage with a bit of dijon mustard, and went back for another mini-whole wheat bagel after this first one.  I love the mini ones.  They’re perfect for small snacks with a bit of cheese or peanut butter, but can also be “doubled up” when you want a slightly larger portion. 😀

Eaten with chopsticks to slow. me. down.

Off to make a snack and relax! 😀

Upcoming Food Challenge—drum roll please—BLACK BEANS!!  Get creative!  Everything from a black bean dip to black beans on the most amazing salad to a black bean burger.  Post up your creativity on your blog starting now, and let me know when you posted it.  All the recipes will be compiled into one major incredible black bean post for next Saturday. :mrgreen:  Post ’em up!

Question: If you make something that you end up not enjoying, will you still eat it?  Or does it end up in the trash?  It really depends how bad it is. :mrgreen:  Sometimes I’ll eat it, but if it’s truly horrible, it’s not worth wasting my tastebuds on. 😉

This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

15 thoughts on “first day of spring

  1. I’ll be sure to add black beans to the grocery list!
    Haha, great question. I usually try to eat it, but I made a microwave cupacke that was like sweetened egg, so I threw it out. and that green monster… yeah that I would have probably dumped, lol

  2. I’m excited for your food challenges! And I try to eat it still, just because I hate thinking about the money I spent on the food and wasting anything.

  3. I am the same way as you. If it is bearable I will eat it. If not it goes in the trash! Sounds like you had a great day:)

  4. I usually get a bit upset if my cooking turns out bad. If I get into a tantrum, I might slam things and just kind of pulverize the food in anger. But if I’m in a good mood, I’ll just eat it and think about something else. lol.

  5. If it’s just for me, I’ll end up just eating it. But if it’s for Nate too, I get all upset and I usually end up trashing it and storming off to buy a frozen pizza. Ha, ha.

  6. Everything looks so delicious! I eat something that turned out bad only if there’s nothing else or if there’s just too much of my effort in it;)

    x Julia (Taste of Living)

  7. Hi! Found my way over here from Susan’s blog, and so glad I did. Love it! Especially that you have challenges. I’ve been looking for a group that wanted to do something like that 🙂 (And – I love black beans 😛 )
    If I make something that turns out awful, or – like last night, when I tried an awful new product – I try to like it or doctor it up, but sometimes it’s just not worth it! The worst is when it’s so bad or weird you have to try it a few times, and by then you’ve almost finished it and you can’t even make something else since by then you’re full! haha. Unless…I’m the only one who does that. Hope not.

  8. Hi! I had the best sweet potato dish ever last night and thought I’d tell you about it, even though that challenge already ended: baked, with a teeny pat of butter, salt & pepper, salsa, and ff ricotta! I just threw together items from my fridge and it totally worked.

    I’m so excited about your challenges, my favorite foods are sweet potatoes and black beans! I especially like them together with some salsa… yum!

  9. Gosh, eggs really do make the best dishes! I just love them at all times of day!
    And a cold bowl of cereal really does sound refreshing on the first day of spring!
    If I really don’t like something, I won’t eat it. I just know that I’ll end up sad that I didn’t enjoy it and I’ll feel unsatisfied, so I’ll either put it in the fridge for Daniel or toss it. I hate the waste though!
    Enjoy your Sunday!

  10. Yay, I’m ready for the black bean challenge 😀

    I love green smoothies but Kale is definitely intense! It’s hard to mask the flavor lol

    I hate wasting food so I’ll usually eat something even if it’s bad. I DO have a limit though 😉

  11. If I make something that I don’t end up liking, I usually throw it out. I hate wasting food.. but I’m not very good at eating things that I don’t like. If I do eat it, I don’t feel satisfied and just end up eating more right after..

  12. I can’t wait for the black bean challenge!
    (Even though I didn’t make it, Saturday night’s dinner was FULL of them thanks to my wonderful boyfriend- it was definitely blog worthy!)

Leave a Reply

