Last Night

Sometimes I get so absorbed in the moment that I completely forget to whip out the camera.  That was me, yesterday, as the entire family gathered around to celebrate “mom’s day“.  I found myself deeply entrenched in the simplicity of life.  Eating, laughing, talking. 

In fact, all I had on my camera was a random shot of shrimp (of which I ate more than my fair share…oops!) 

And this other random shot of my dad stealing my dill pickle.  Don’t worry, I saved the pickle and all was well in the world again. 😉

Tonight is my last night studying for finals.  My last night studying as a senior in college.  Last night.  What a strange, strange feeling.

Anyways, I’m getting ahead of myself.  I really need to stay focused today in an effort to study for my business management exam.  Business management.  Who would have guessed that business management would be the last exam I’d ever take as a nutrition major?  Somehow chemistry would seem more fitting.  Not that I’m complaining, mind you. 😉 

OIAJ! (oats in a jar!)

In the kitchen sat a big bunch of super ripe bananas, which warranted good reason to whip up the ol’ standby classic.

  • 1/4 c. oatbran + 1/4 c. wheatbran (stirred in towards end)
  • 1 c. milk + 3/4 c. water
  • 1 banana, sliced (saved 1/4 of it for the top)
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger

I liked sprinkling the chia seeds on top of my oats, as I scraped my way through the jar.  It made for a fun crunch and was much more obvious than when I mixed it in with everything else.  Crunch, crunch, crunch.  They remind me of poppy seeds! :mrgreen:

…I also sprinkled on some Natures Path Pumpkin Flax Granola for good measure. 

Plans for the day…

  • study!
  • s-t-u-d-y!
  • S-T-U-D-Y!!!
  • walk, bike, walk

Keeping things simple, but that’s okay.  Tomorrow I’m officially finished!

Question: Did you do anything fun for Mothers Day?

AND/OR

Question: What’s your favorite “unusual” or “not so average” way to stay active?  I love mountain climbing in New Hampshire, along with kayaking and playing tennis.  They’re all fun ways to keep active without really feeling like so-called “exercise”. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by One Beautiful Life. Bookmark the permalink.

About One Beautiful Life

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a 30 something year old who loves Jesus, nutrition, green tea, my family and my tuxedo cat named Humphrey. I enjoy photography, cooking and working at the local hospital as a Registered Dietitian. Thanks for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “Last Night

  1. Good luck today! Love days filled with laughter and family – so nice to have before your last study day. Unusual? maybe rollerblading – I used to love it!

  2. Good luck on the last exam! That is great that you are that close to being done!!! I am glad you had a great day yesterday with your family. I had a very relaxing day with my kids and husband! The weekend was full of family time! I would say hiking is my favorite non exercise activity! Have a great day!

  3. Good luck on your LAST exam!!!!
    I havent been with my parents for mother’s day in 4 years (They live in Quebec) but when I lived with them, we had a nice and decadent brunch with the whole family (aunts, grand-parents, etc.)
    And my dad built our house (carrying stones from the fields, etc.) so he stayed in pretty good shape that way, hahaha! 😉

  4. oh i love how engrossed you were in the day-enjoy it and no photos needed! good luck today…..oh how i remember the last few days of college 🙂

  5. Best of luck on your last exam! I finished my last exam as an undergraduate last Thursday, but I still don’t think it’s sunk in yet!
    I love to kayak for a change of pace.

Leave a comment